We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a group, wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place for a group, wonderful staff!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

For more than 20 years we have spent President's Day weekend with my husband's fraternity brothers and families. Some of the kids are now in college and we need more space than we did when they were young children.The suites at the hotel met our needs.

The hotel staff was excellent, very friendly, and frankly very tolerant of us, as we required a decent amount of services, including cabs to take 22 people to Mt. Washington. Pgh is not a cab town. They even helped us track down one of the kids' lost wallets. The location is great, a quick walk to Carson Street shops and bars and a short drive to Pitt.

There were 25 of us travelling to Pgh. from all over the Northeast this year. We were able to use a large 2 bedroom suite on the first floor as our home base/party room. The studio and one bedroom suites were large, and as the hotel is nearly brand new, the rooms were in perfect condition. Our one bedroom suite had a full kitchen with all the supplies you need. The free breakfast had a large amount of food options and plenty of seating. The small bar area is also a great place to relax and use a group meeting point.

The hotel is very nice as it is new, but the staff tipped the scales to make the hotel a great place to stay. We will be back next Feb!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stogamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
stogamom,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your visit to Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. We're thrilled to be a part of such a wonderful tradition and pleased to know our spacious accommodations meets your group's needs. Your praise regarding our staff's excellence in service highlights our core objective in providing exceptional guest experiences. We look forward to having everyone back as our guests again next February. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    135
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
213
145
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

There were a few housekeeping issues that were not up to standard when we checked in. One call to the front t desk and the housekeeping manager arrived and resolved them for us. In addition, she was pleasant and apologized.

You can tell the hotel is new, sterile feeling from the common area décor. Interesting room layout... not my favorite, but it worked. The problem I had there was only one elevator and it was slow. The included breakfast buffet was the norm for the included breakfast buffet. They could have used some additional staff working the breakfast during the time I was trying to get my breakfast. The coffee was good and HOT.

We went to an event at the Irish Bar across the street, so the location was perfect.

Bottom line, I would stay there again..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Howard Z,
Thank you for writing a review from your recent stay. I appreciate you recognizing the pleasant and attentive service of our staff in promptly resolving the housekeeping issues you encountered.

Additionally, I am happy to inform you that we do have a second elevator and apologize that we did not make that added convenience clear upon arrival. We sincerely regret any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and can assure that your comments have been shared with our team.

We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay overall and would return for another visit in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is very modern and clean, with a layout very similar to a condo. Each unit has everything you would need: from a fully stocked kitchen, to a (small) sectional sofa and flat screen that you can watch from the sofa or rotate, so that it can be seen from the bed. We took advantage of the shuttle service which took us to/from the business district. The complimentary breakfast and ability to walk to numerous restaurants blocks from the restaurant was also nice. The hotel is a bit pricier than other hotels in the area but I think you get a lot for that price difference. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wade000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
wade000,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendations of Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, along with our spacious accommodations and complimentary services. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, MD
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A new place to stay on our frequent pilgrimage to the Burgh with other couples, we tried Hyatt House because of its walkability to the Hofbrau Haus and Southside. It's got all the same amenities as a normal higher-end motel, but has taken the effort to modernize the layout of the amenities. The bar in the lobby doesn't feel cookie-cutter, the is a labyrinth layout to the breakfast area (which gives you a chance to gather or pick a more intimate spot), and there is a fantastic veranda over the river that we couldn't sit on in February. The room is definitely liveable, with a spacious, well-appointed bathroom and an overall layout that gives you plenty of options for lounging around. There is a kitchen area in case you want to cook (?? we didn't...on business, I might), complete with a dishwasher, in case you don't want to hand-wash (who would?)

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the river, but not all...in case you are into that kind of thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splendidcheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Splendidcheddar,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your visit to Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. I appreciate your observations regarding our modern updates and amenities. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you’ll visit us again in the future. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location, Location, Location... if you are in town to enjoy the bars and restaurants of the South Side, you cannot go wrong with this new build Hyatt. Pro's - did I mention location? Friendly, helpful staff, brand spanking new hotel, gym and swimming facilities. We had a 2 room suite with a river view, 2 full washrooms and a sitting area / kitchenette. No complaints. Con's - only con was an elevator with a loud 'indicator' for the visually impaired... you could hear that thing down the hall and in the living room area of the suite at night [but not the bedrooms]. Turn that down a notch and no problems. Note the second floor lobby [get used to it on the new builds people...] and the valet parking, although there is a parking garage directly across the street. Nice place, I'd book here again.

Room Tip: If you have a full suite and someone is sleeping on the pull out in the sitting area, try and get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Tim J,
Thank you for your positive reflections from your time with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. Our location is a key attribute to providing our guests with many options and conveniences during their stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and amenities, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
279 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

it is definitely a niche hotel. it is really close to shopping and bars in that area. it has good parking and valet service if you want it. the rooms have a kitchen which was really nice but the sitting area was a little strange. This was the only downside for me. we never used the sitting area but for storage of our luggage as it is a little too small and has no real privacy to bed or kitchen. the lobby is clean and nice with a nice after hours snack puchase area. There is also a hotel bar which was overflowing when we were there and we could not have a drink. The breakfast was really good and uses the bar area in the morning for tables. you have to take tow elevators to get to the street level which is a little strange but doable. i didn't like that we had to "be seen" in the lobby level to cross to the stairs or elevator going down to street level. the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice size. The closet was in the bathroom whcih was a lttle strange and can be awkward for some.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Shaun B,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your visit to Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. We're glad you enjoyed a pleasant stay and we appreciate your comments on ways to improve our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 2795 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing