We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, just about there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great new modern hotel in an up and coming part of Pittsburgh. Rooms are very nice although the craftsmanship could have been better. There are small problems with showers leakage and formica coming lose in kitchens but overall the place is great. The hotel offers a shuttle service to PNC Park which is a huge perk, but they need to add another van so guests don't get stuck in downtown after the game when one van is full. The only noticeable issue I had was the morale of the workers is pretty bad in spots. They seem to argue too much in view of the guest and some of the staff seems like they need to voice how hard they are working and complain a little too much when their colleague isn't doing the same. These are all very minor issues that will get worked out but the hotel is wonderful.

The lady in her late 50's early 60's working in the free breakfast area is a star though. Nicest woman I have met at hotel in a long long time. Wish I remembered her name.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toad1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

toad1212,
Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback on your visit to Hyatt House Pittsburgh. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel well suited for your travels. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We appreciate your feedback and providing opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hyatt House for 4 nights and we have never felt more at home in any other motel. Location is great! All workers are very helpful and courteous (housekeeping, managers, valets, breakfast workers, etc). One of the valets found out we were driving to Steelers Training Camp and without us asking he printed out MapQuest directions to and from Latrobe. Linda and Tyre do an excellent job with breakfast. Linda, who prepares breakfast really gets to know the guests. She came up and talked to us daily making sure everything was good and that we were enjoying our stay. On our last day she had to give our entire family and goodbye hug and wished us a safe trip back to Iowa. We truly felt like the staff cared for us and went above and beyond to make our stay in Pittsburgh perfect. We hope to go back for a visit and if we do we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced downtown Pittsburgh and the river. I'm not sure which direction that w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Jean R,
Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback regarding your experience at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. I’m pleased to hear that our staff’s excellence in service and warm hospitality added the comforts of home during your stay. I’ll be certain to share your kind comments with our staff and will recognize Linda and Tyre special commendations for their outstanding service. We enjoyed having you and your family as our guests and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I truly enjoyed being home in Pittsburgh at this location. The room was very modern and well equipped! Huge shower was awesome! The valets were terrific. The desk folks varied in their friendliness and helpfulness! Some great some not as much!! The only drawback was drunken girl throwing up in elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevevandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

bevevandken,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location, accommodations, and staff well suited for your travels. I apologize for any inconsistency you received in service and the unfortunate encounter in the elevator. Please know that your comments will be shared with our team to improve our property and overall guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again the next time you travel Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt House as part of a large block of rooms for a guys-weekend in Pittsburgh in August 2013. The hotel is located along the river in a newer development called South Side Works. It is surrounded by higher-end shopping (H&M, BCBG, etc.) as well as the American Eagle corporate HQ across the street. Just behind the hotel is a nice walking/bike path along the river. The HB German beer hall is next door (a very fun environment).

The hotel seems fairly new. There is valet parking available for $14 per day. There were a number of other parking facilities nearby, but don't know if they were less expensive. The hotel served a very good complimentary hot breakfast (with a particularly good omelet station). Lobby was clean and modern. Free copies of the Wall Street Journal available at the front desk.

The rooms were very spacious. Ours had a separate bedroom, living area and well stocked kitchen. Everything was very clean and modern.

The only issue that we had was with some mixups at the front desk. One person from our party reserved a block of rooms under his name, as different people were arriving throughout the afternoon and evening. The front desk seemed very confused by this arrangement and ended up giving away some rooms to other guests not from our party. So when people from our party arrived in the late evening, all of our rooms were gone. They ended up addressing it, comping some rooms and apologizing profusely, so no harm done. And frankly, the situation was pretty confusing so a mixup is not too surprising.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

ElectricMayhem,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. We appreciate you selecting our hotel to your guys weekend, and we’re glad you found our location ideal for your travels. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that may have resulted from the confusion at check-in. Your feedback is important to us, as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked a two bedroom suite for 3 nights, 2 couples. We had everything we needed, and if we needed anything, they were there to help right away. We used the shuttle service to go to other areas, and it was great, with very friendly drivers happy to help. Restaurants and shopping very near by. Take an umbrella in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjoantr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

justjoantr,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to provide everything you needed during your visit. We appreciate you selecting our hotel on your travels and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Modern and clean and right on the river. Great showers, great air conditioning in a bad heat wave. The staff at the Hyatt House provided amazing service. We stayed two nights, and everyone was warm, helpful and competent. Everyone. At breakfast, I was served by a woman named Linda who was so kind I felt like I was at someone's home rather than a hotel. A restaurant worker named Jackie was really funny and sweet, also. And a man named Aaron knocked himself out to be helpful. These people seemed genuinely happy to do things for us. I really, really liked them and the room, too.

Room Tip: I liked the room with the river view, and the view of the Hot Metal Bridge, nearby.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneWanderingJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

WanderingJules2013,
We greatly appreciate your review and kind comments about our great hotel and excellent service. We have a special team of genuine and dedicated associates that work hard to provide an exceptional stay for each guest. I’ll be certain to pass along your kind comments to our team and will recognize Linda, Jackie, and Aaron with a special commendation for their outstanding service and warm hospitality. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fabulous hotel! Great staff & service - all staff were so friendly & accommodating. The free breakfast is different than in most hotels - some great healthy options and traditional fare - eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal - but the best part is the omelette bar! Great indoor, saltwater, pool and fitness room. Rooms are large & comfy with great views of the city! Rooms also have fully stocked kitchens, not that you would need them in this area. There are so many great restaurants within walking distance. There is also a wonderful outdoor space with a fire pit.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Marystaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Marystaci,
It’s great to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. I’ll be certain to pass along your kind comments to our team about their excellence in service and our comfortable accommodations. We’re glad you had an opportunity to explore our area and all the restaurants we have to offer within walking distance. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 2795 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2391
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $163 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing