We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great night away from kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great night away from kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after hearing good reviews. It was our first night out without kids in a few years. Hotel was very nice and new and contained very modern decor. The highlight was the outdoor patio on the river featuring grills and fire pits. Also, the room was set up very smartly with features such as a charging bar for electronics, great view, comfortable bed, and a great shower. Would stay there again. Hotel is located in a great part oftownandwithin walking distance of some great restaurants and shops.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Doug H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. We appreciate you and your wife selecting our hotel for your first adult night out. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and found our outdoor features, central location, and comfortable accommodations well suited for your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    133
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
198
142
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is brand new (there was still a bit of drywall dust around), the staff are very eager to please. It is a good location if we want to stay on the South Side, which is a little bit away from downtown. The hotel is very convenient to the bike path which runs along the river and is immediately behind the hotel. The suite rooms were very nice. Breakfast is supposed to have personally made omelets, but, I didn't see anyone prepared to do it. Otherwise, the breakfast was ok, nothing too exciting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50Continental_Drift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
50Continental_Drift,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel and excellent service. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the South Side. Thank you again for writing

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

One night stay in very new hotel. Clean, friendly staff, and suite was beautiful. Hotel is very modern but nice. Offer included breakfast in the am. Because it is an extended stay hotel, all rooms are suites, however, there is a nice indoor pool, gym and great outdoor patio. Would like to especially complement Linda, ( if I got the wrong name, I apologize). She was the am breakfast person, omelette maker. She was extremely friendly, nice to talk to, and went out of her way for us. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kim B,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate your review and kind comments about our clean accommodations and friendly staff. I’ll be certain to recognize Linda with a special commendation for her warm hospitality and outstanding service. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you’ll visit us again at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took advantage of a special AAA rate and booked the one bedroom with queen sofa and kitchen. Parking is $14 for valet parking with multi-in and out. The area appears to be a revitalized area with lots of shops and a few restaurants near by. Movie theaters are a block away. A lot of young adults in the area. There is a patio over looking the river walk. The patio has places to sit and one of the areas is around a gas fire pit/place. A gas grill is on the deck as well. (We didn't use any of these but did check them out.) There's an indoor pool and exercise room. The free breakfast was good-- eggs, bacon, pancakes, tea, coffee, juice, bagels, toast - the usual fare.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean but was missing sheets, pillows and blankets for the sleeper sofa. We also ran out of towels; The room was only stocked for two people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
David R,
We appreciate you writing a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as our friendly staff, clean rooms, and the variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. I have discussed this review with our housekeeping staff and apologize for the oversight. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice, new clean hotel. The Terrace with fire pit makes for a nice place to relax. GREAT location as all the features of the South Side Works and easy access to downtown Pittsburgh, North Shore, Consol Energy, Oakland etc. spacious and well appointed rooms that work well for one night, a weekend or even longer term stays. Reasonable valet parking for $14 per night. Only complaint was the 2nd night of our stay they never came to clean or make up our room??...returned to room late to find this so just called and got fresh towels and made it work.....otherwise abreast stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Douglas S,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, our spacious accommodations, as well as our central location. It’s unfortunate to hear that your room was not cleaned on your 2nd night stay. I have addressed this issue with our housekeeping staff and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as a result. We value you as our guest and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My room was larger then expected! For the affordable price I got a king bed, kitchenette including pots pans and the like, and a nice large bathroom! Very modern and the hotel is green too! The staff was friendly and the pool was warm! I will be staying here again and told my friends visiting the Burgh to stay here, it's also close to all the local bars and restaurants and music venues on East Carson!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Veronika S,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. It’s great to hear that our spacious accommodations, friendly staff, and central location made for an enjoyable. We appreciate your recommendations of our great hotel and we look forward to your return visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an ideal hotel in an ideal setting. It overlooks the Monongahela River and from your window you can see pleasure craft and barges. The setting is peaceful but conveniently located for access to Pittsburgh. Rooms are well-equipped. Beds are comfortable and you'll find your expectations exceeded by room fixtures.

The staff is very customer oriented and more than helpful. In particular I appreciated help from Nicole at the front desk in resolving a room reservation problem. The management has obviously done a good job of emphasizing the right behavior to encourage customers to return.

Overall, I rate this hotel as five stars/excellent.

Room Tip: Request river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hertz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Albert314,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you found our hotel ideal for your travels. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our comfortable accommodations and excellent customer service. I’ll be certain to recognize Nicole with a special commendation for her outstanding service. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 2795 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing