We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute blast with the kids!”

Pittsburgh Water Steps
Ranked #42 of 148 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I saw these steps during our duck boat tour. We made note of where they were because we wanted to come back with our kids.

I'm very happy we did. My kids must have gone up and down these water steps about 50 times. Even my wife and I had a really good time chasing after them. As a bonus the view from these steps is wonderful as you are looking out across the river to the financial district and the mountains.

Bring your bathing suits because this is a fun place to go!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank psudino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"north shore"
in 10 reviews
"low tech"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"bathing suits"
in 2 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 2 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 2 reviews
"great for kids"
in 3 reviews
"science center"
in 4 reviews
"across the river"
in 3 reviews
"allegheny river"
in 2 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 2 reviews
"pnc park"
in 3 reviews
"heinz field"
in 2 reviews
"shoes"
in 7 reviews
"chlorinated"
in 4 reviews
"picnicking"
in 2 reviews
"riverfront"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

A day out with the teenagers yielded this as one of our stops. They loved jumping around in the water and taking pictures with the city backdrop. The water is mostly ankle deep- perfect for little ones to cool off on a hot day and perfect for mom and dad to sit by with their feet in as well. Definitely a wonderful gem nestled into the shore!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank CherylP962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

This is just a short walk from the Carnagie Science Center, which was a pleasant surprise. Kids of all ages were there enjoying themselves, and it was refreshing to wade in the knee-deep water. The only disappointing thing was some people wouldn't pick up after themselves and there was some food wrappers, etc floating in the water. I didn't see any trash cans nearby, but that's still no excuse! Still, we all had a blast and would go back.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TheAshleyFamilyFold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We walked to the water steps from across the river in downtown. When we got there, there were a lot of people around, but there was not any water in the steps!

Perhaps we arrived too late. It would have been nice to see with water.

Date of experience: August 2018
4  Thank AndyB5542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Check out the Water Steps for a fun little free spot to play and/or cool down. The water is chlorinated and we saw kids of all ages enjoying the steps. They are a nice and beautiful place to stop and rest when you’re strolling Northshore along the Allegheny River.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank jgieryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pittsburgh Water Steps also viewed

 

Been to Pittsburgh Water Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing