We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super clean, modern & right outside the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super clean, modern & right outside the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed there when we spent the weekend in Pittsburgh. Just minutes away from the heart of downtown. The very modern updated hotel may be a little snug but is very comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast is just what you would expect from a continental breakfast, assorted cereals, bakery items, scrambled eggs, sausage & make your own waffles. Very satisfactory yet nothing profound.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevemmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your kind remarks. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support.

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    65
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
41
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayville, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We need a place to stay on the way back from the Pro Football HOF to attend the Pirates game. This place was perfect. We had 2 adults and 3 kids. Had a room with 2 king size beds, 2 bathrooms and it only cost $122. The complementary breakfast was perfect with waffles, fruit, cereal, bagels, etc. The front desk was very polite. It was about a 10 minute ride from PNC park. If we go to Pittsburgh again we will stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your kind remarks. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support. I am glad to hear our front desk staff was able to find the perfect room for you, that room is one of three suites that we have! Hope to host your family again soon. Let's Go Bucs!

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed overnight @this Comfort Inn because of the proximity to downtown Pgh. Our plans included a tour of Heinz Field, which was only 10 minutes away. So, the location is great for anyone planning to attend a Steeler, Pirates or Pen's game. The hotel is less than one year old so it is very nice. The rooms are smartly decorated and very quiet. Isaac, the gentleman working when we checked-in, was very helpful in directing us to restaurants & finding our way around the area. Very friendly staff overall. We would highly recommend this hotel & will plan to stay there again when we are in the Pittsburgh area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall have extra space. Ours did anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pasnowbird05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your kind remarks. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support.

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. Our room was at the end of the hall and even though there were a lot of wedding parties and other groups, it was quiet. The staff were all very helpful, printing maps for us (we don't use a GPS) and providing other information. Breakfast was fine although if it's full, they may run out of supplies. And when they say breakfast is served from 6-9 a.m., don't show up at 9:03 a.m.
The price was certainly the most reasonable we found and it's a short drive to downtown. We weren't bothered by the right turn only out of the hotel, since we were always heading downtown.
That does present some difficulty finding the place, but our directions indicated that we'd have to make a u-turn on McKnight, so it wasn't unexpected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniea1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your kind remarks. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support.

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not a lot to say about our stay here, as the hotel delivered what it needed to for the price range. Getting there is a bit tricky the first time, if you're heading north on Rt. 19, as you're forced to go past the hotel and find a place to turn around. No complaints about the hotel in general or our room in particular. Although we stayed on the side of the hotel facing (at an angle) Rt. 19, we didn't hear the traffic at all. Breakfast was typical for these types of places, but they never ran out of food or seating. The location is very handy for getting most anywhere, and we were able to arrive at PNC Park in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattnMingYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your kind remarks. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support.

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is relatively new. The price was alright for the amenities. They did have some upkeep issues in the bathroom, but for the most part it was pretty clean. It is a very short drive to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your feedback. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support.

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 1 night while in town for a Tom Petty concert. It is a fairly new hotel located about 10 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful & friendly. The continental breakfast included plenty of the usual options and was well-stocked.

The first thing you notice on arrival is that the hotel isn't located in a very attractive area. There aren't really any stores or dining options around unless you include the gas station across the street and the "adult toy store" right next door. Also, the hotel is located on a busy, 4-lane divided road just north of I-279. If you are coming from I-279, you have to drive past the hotel a little ways and then make a U-turn because of the barrier in the middle. This is kind of a pain.

Also, the rooms are extremely small. We had 4 people in the room and it felt very cramped. The door to the bathroom is located in a weird position and nearly hits one of the beds as it opens. There are no table/chairs in the room except for a computer chair for a small desk along the wall. For a new-construction building, I was surprised by the poor design and small size of the room.


While we are on the subject of rooms being small, the breakfast area is too small as well. There aren't enough tables and you can barely squeeze between the tables as you walk by. Once again, I expected a better layout from a new building.

The beds are fairly comfortable but I really didn't enjoy the pillows at all. If you are a person who needs a comfortable pillow to sleep, I would recommend bringing your favorite pillow from home.

Overall, this isn't a bad choice if in the area, but for the price ($105/night) you could find a better deal. The only extra amenity is a very small (surprise!) fitness room. Again,the hotel was clean though, and I saw no bugs whatsoever.

Conclusion: if you just need to find a clean hotel close to the city and don't have time to read hundreds of reviews, this should be an option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inquisitive_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you both for staying with us and also for your kind remarks. We value your business and are very appreciative of your support.

Thanks again,
General Manager
K.P. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#44 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / McCandless, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn  - Pittsburgh / Steubenville Pike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 4607 McKnight Rd, off I-279 Exit 4/McKnight Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Inn(R) hotel in Pittsburgh, PA near PPG Paints Arena, Heinz Field and PNC Park Discover for yourself why this city is known as one of the best places to visit when you explore a variety of attractions near our Pittsburgh hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing