We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed September 20, 2007

I'm writing this on our last of four nights in this hotel, via the FREE high-speed Ethernet Internet access (connector cable provided). It has been a wonderful stay. It's our first trip to Pittsburgh, and when we return (yes, we definitely will), we'll try to stay here again.

It's a very good location. There are three or four top-notch restaurants, and some at the other end of the spectrum, like Subway, within a block; many more within walking distance. It's a half-block to the convention center. A couple blocks to the Heinz History Center. The Strip, a funky area with shops and restaurants, starts just a few blocks away. It's also near downtown shopping and PPG Place.

Valet parking is $22/day no matter how often you come and go. The valet service is quick when you call down to request your car.

One great advantage is the shuttle -- they'll take you anywhere within a 10-minute ride: to Station Square, to the inclines; to nearby downtown restaurants if you don't want to walk. Seems like not too many people use this, because they've always been very fast to pick us up for the return trip when we call. Schenley Park & the Oakland area (Pitt, Carnegie Mellon) are out of the shuttle range, but we drove with no trouble.

Breakfast is either a cold buffet or a hot buffet with custom omelets and an array of breakfast meats, cereals, pastries, bagels, etc. Can't remember the price, but it seemed reasonable. Two papers, local & USA Today, are delivered to your door; others, including the Wall Street Journal, are complimentary downstairs. WI-FI is available in the lobby. Excellent signal strength for our Cingular cell phones.

Our room is nicely appointed -- king bed with two side tables, armoire closet, desk, full-size sofa, cocktail table. And the high ceilings, probably 15 feet, make it feel even bigger. Nice bathroom, nothing special, but certainly more than adequate.

Best part of all is the staff. SO friendly and helpful!

As someone else mentioned, the view may be nil. But we haven't minded, because everything else about this hotel has been just great!

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank wythany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2007

Nice, clean hotel. I transferred here from the Westin - which was horrible. Everything was new, service was good and the rooms were large. If you need a place to stay while attending a convention, this is clearly your best choice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StotheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Stayed here from 5/28 to 5/31 on business. Overall the hotel was very nice, the staff very friendly, and the location was excellent.

Many of the rooms, including mine faced other guest rooms overlooking a courtyard below. Maybe that's why it's called "Courtyard"? Needless to say, if you want a room with a view, look elsewhere.

The only other issue was that I had arrived late in the afternoon on Memorial Day. After checking in I was informed by the front desk that literally all of Downtown Pittsburgh was closed and that I would have to take a free shuttle to some part of town where there were joints that were open. After spending part of my day flying and then taking a 30 minute cab ride from the Pittsburgh airport I decided instead to venture across the street to the restaurant located in the Westin Hotel which was actually very good. The name of the place is called "The Original Fish Market" and I actually ordered a sushi platter which was fantastic.

The final point I would make is that Penn Avenue, while a long busy street through Downtown Pittsburgh, has some areas that you want to watch yourself, especially at night. While certain areas of Pittsburgh are nice, it is definitely not all "Mr. Roger's Neighborhood"

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bceagle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Our group of six friends stayed at this downtown hotel to see Pittsburgh's amazing fireworks display on July 4. The hotel offered a great rate of $129/double and we found our rooms to be very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and the bar off the lobby had a nice atmosphere. I'd especially recommend this hotel to those attending a convention, as the property is less than a block from the Convention Center. It's also very a short walk to Heinz Hall, Benedum Center, and PNC Park.

Tip: Parking at the hotel is $22 per day. Park in one of the nearby city garages and pay only $14.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brady15203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed here on June 9-10 for the Kenny Chesney concert. What an awesome hotel. We checked in without a problem. The room was large with a nice view of the city. They have a shuttle that actually drove us right up the PNC Park and dropped us off. And when the concert was over they came back to pick us up. Very friendly staff, everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hairqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

This was our first trip to Pittsburgh to see the Steelers play. It has been my boyfriends dream for 20 years to see them play in Heinz field. We really didn't care about the hotel we were going to stay at because we didn't plan on spending much time there. I booked the Courtyard because I am a Marriott member and it was the cheapest rate I could find in Downtown Pittsburgh. Since I have never been there before we didn't know if it would be close to anything but we took our chances.

We checked in late Friday night and the room we booked was full so the upgraded us to a suite!! It was a huge room with a sitting room, fridge, wetbar and microwave, large bathroom and even larger bedroom with a king bed. We couldn't believe our luck. Also, the hotel had recently been renovated so everything looked fresh and new.

The service at the hotel was great and everyone was helpful - we had a lot of questions since it was our first time there. As it turned out this hotel was in walking distance (for us) to a lot of things including the Strip district, Heinz Field and the subway stop we took for further destinations. We don't mind walking a lot so we tried to do that as much as possible. For less active people you would want to take cabs.

When we left my boyfriend had bought so much stuff that we didn't have room in our luggage so the front desk found us a box to pack everything in and let us use their packing tape so we could check that on the plane. They were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank scorpioscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We originally had plans to spend only two nights at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Pittsburgh during our visit over Labor Day weekend. We ended up staying three nights though and cancelled our reservation elsewhere. The staff was very accommodating and was happy to have us for an extra night. The bell staff was also friendly and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area, attractions and local transportation options.

The hotel is ideally located downtown and occupies a beautiful historic building on Penn Avenue and valet parking is available. However, we opted to park at a nearby garage for just $5 per day. The Wood Street light rail station is also a short walk away.

Our guest room was very roomy and offered great views of the Pittsburgh skyline. The lobby is spacious and welcoming and the hotel is great for business travelers. There is a computer with free internet access available in the lobby as well.

Overall, the Courtyard is a fantastic property. It was priced reasonably for its downtown location and offered easy access to all Pittsburgh has to offer. We felt very welcomed here and will definitely consider the Courtyard for future visits to the Steel City.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $153 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing