We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for several days during a convention in May. The hotel itself is great, rooms clean and a decent size. The fridge in the room was good and the airconditioner was quiet and worked well (something I find important in a hotel)
The staff were so-so, friendly but would walk straight past you in the hallway or in the enterance. The hotel has a great location for both the convention center and there are some really good resturants in less than a 5 minute walk. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tams_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I appreciate you choosing us while in the area for your convention. It is reflections like yours which allow us to serve our guests better. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Chris Burke, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 452 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Family and friends from all over the United States came together for a weekend wedding event. We had the warmest reception from the concierge, the front desk staff and housekeeping. Everyone was delightfully pleasant and helpful. As long-time Marriott members we were so pleased to have been upgraded to a suite for our daughter's wedding. Thank you for making the most special weekend of our lives even more special by your gracious hospitality!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jillbear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Jillbear72,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognize the warm hospitality of our staff at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. Our team takes pride in the level of service they provide and I look forward to sharing your compliments. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your daughter's wedding and we hope we'll have an opportunity to extend our hospitality again in the future. Congratulations to all!

Kind regards,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Desk staff and valets were friendly and accommodating. Room was clean except for a few stains on the carpet and chair. Hotel was just a short walk away from the Strip, PNC Park, Market Square etc... Courtyard was only open until 10:30pm which is around the time I would have liked to enjoy a cigar. Also, no pool so my son was disappointed. Those two things aside; this was a great place to stay and I would recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank GreatoneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

GreatoneJ,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. I'm pleased to hear our friendly staff and close proximity to many area attractions made for a great stay. We regret the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations and thank you for sharing opportunities for improving our guest experience. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while seeing two weekend Pirates games. A really great location, within walking distance to the ballpark, and just about everything else. A very friendly staff (always greet you when you walk into the lobby). Shared a room with a buddy and the two bed rooms are actually queen beds (very nice!). The ceilings in these rooms are probably 14 feet tall, so it makes the room look huge. Beds were comfy and housekeeping was great. Would definitely stay here again if I am in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

dr0823,
We appreciate you choosing Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown while seeing two Pirates games and thank you for your review. We're pleased to know our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations perfectly suited your travel needs. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!

Kind regards,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh. It's about 2 blocks from the Benedum Center so it's easy to walk to performances there. The room we had was very large and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful with directions to nearby shopping. Also the valet personnel were very helpful. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Deborah D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind comments about staff and will be sure to share with them at the next associate meeting! We look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Originally I booked this place for a couple reasons. 1) I used my marriott points 2) it had 2 queen beds ( not 2 doubles).
It is a typical courtyard ... The staff is friendly and helpful. There are basic amenities but plenty to do around the hotel to make up for not having a bar, restaurant or spa / salon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldlyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

worldlyroamer,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as the variety of dining and entertainment offerings around our hotel. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've been to conventions in Pittsburgh several times and each time I've stayed in a different hotel. The next time I'm in Pittsburgh, I will go back to the Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. The location is excellent - conveniently located to the convention center, to numerous excellent restaurants and to the Strip.

The rooms are large with high ceilings and tall windows. The beds are comfortable and the amenities offered in each room are nice. While the hair dryers and irons could be updated, the reality is that I don't choose a hotel based on those sorts of things. Requests were answered and filled quickly - with three of us in the room, we needed extra towels. The funny part was that a large stack of towels would be delivered but not replenished the next day, requiring us to make another request a day later.

The staff is excellent. They were friendly, helpful and always asking if there was anything else they could do. Really, they were just plain old-fashioned nice. I had several boxes shipped to the hotel and they were helpful in assisting me with that - and with shipping boxes from the hotel later.

But there were two staff members who I would particularly like to mention - Mark Wright and Andre Jennings. They drive and coordinate the shuttle at the hotel, and both gentlemen were funny, engaging and helpful. More importantly, they went above-and-beyond any possible duty or service their jobs might require. I could easily cite three separate examples of their willingness to help - their commitment to customer service. They are a credit to Marriott, to the Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, and to the managers and staff they work with.

Thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Our room was on the sixth floor overlooking Penn Avenue. While there was some noise in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

RosieAZ,
Thank you for your complimentary review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. I'm pleased to know your first visit was memorable, and that the excellent service delivered by our staff played a part. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing a comfortable stay with sincere hospitality and we're glad your experience matched our goal. I look forward to sharing your review with our staff and will be certain to recognize Mark Wright and Andre Jennings on their exemplary customer service. We're thrilled to be your favorite convention hotel and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $169 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing