We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great hotel & Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed January 19, 2014

To start with, Zac is awesome! We had to drop are daughter off to take the Megabus bus back to college at 7:00 am. We had tickets to see Wicked for that evening, so we decided to make a day of it and book a hotel room. Well as Pittsburgh weather is crazy, it was freezing, so walking around town was not an opinion anymore. We stopped in the hotel around 10:00am to see if we could get checked early and Zach did a great job of working something out so we could check in early! Thanks again Zac! The hotel is very clean, the room was was very nice and the staff is very friendly. It is steps away from the Benedum, the convention center, (which is also the Megabus stop), and many bars/resturants. We will definitely be back! PS the valet kids were awesome and so was the free shuttle service! Can't say enough how pleased we were with our stay!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank loves_vacations103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

loves_vacations103,
We're happy to hear of your pleasant stay, and appreciation of our staff at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than recognition from our guests regarding our staff's excellence in service. I'll be certain to recognize Zac with a special commendation for his sincere hospitality. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Another great Marriott hotel experience for myself and my family. We stayed here in December 2013 to catch the last Steelers game of the year and it didn't disappoint. Staff and valet parking attendants were all 5 star and always happy to help. The hotel could use self parking a little closer but I opted for the valet service at $22/night. Not bad when compared to other large cities.

As it's located in the middle of the cultural district there is always plenty of activities for those not attending a sporting event. The hotel was close enough that we could walk to Heinz Field and PNC Park is even closer. There's a great little restaurant/bar attached so you don't have to leave the premises for a drink or a meal. The Bistro also serves a great breakfast and the staff there are outstanding.

Due to the lack of parking and lack of space to park when checking in, I couldn't leave a 5 star rating, but it is still a very nice hotel and reaffirms my commitment to the chain. Keep up the great work. Make sure to say hello to Svetlana at the front desk.

Room Tip: The higher the better to avoid traffic noise. Ask for something on the top floor. The third floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuzzy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

kuzzy1967,
Thank you for selecting Courtyard Pittsburgh to serve your hotel needs for the last Steelers game of the year. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand, and we're pleased to know that our central location and helpful staff made for another excellent Marriott experience. I look forward to passing along your compliments to our staff and thank you once again for writing. We hope you'll return for another visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Chris Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice Hotel. Right downtown. Stayed overnight before going to a Steelers game. Check in was quick. Room was nice and clean. The front desk employees were very nice and friendly. Free papers were put out all over the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneyrocksNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

disneyrocksNewJersey,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown while in town for a Steelers game. We're pleased to know our central location, clean rooms, and friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you had a great time at the game. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Hotel and Staff was wonderful! The hotel was very nice and clean and easy to get around. I would definately consider this hotel for my future visits to the area. Zack at the front desk was awesome and really went the extra mile to make us enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonp896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Jason P,
It's great to hear of your enjoyable stay and appreciation of our staff at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. I'll be certain to recognize Zack with a special commendation for his excellence in service. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown is a good hotel if you are staying in Downtown Pittsburgh. It is within good proximity to everything including lots of bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. The valet staff is excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TrippyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

1TrippyTraveler,
We appreciate your review and recommendations of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We're pleased to hear that our central location, clean rooms, and helpful staff made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This may be the friendliest hotel I've ever visited. Everyone we interacted with was a nice as could be! The location is great - right next to convention center and just blocks from Point Park University that we were visiting. Nice rooms with high ceilings and good beds. Downstairs offers a mini-cafe with limited Starbucks menu and nuke-to-order breakfasts. Lobby is welcoming with comfortable chairs and a lovely fireplace. On the negative side is no on-site parking, although their listing indicated they have it. A paid parking garage is just a short block away for $10 a day. (The attendants here were as friendly as the hotel staff.) They also say they have valet parking, but apparently not as late as we arrived. It was disconcerting to walk the streets of a new city late at night with my daughter and our suitcases. The other thing is that the young woman who checked us in said we could enjoy a complimentary breakfast - which we could not. Otherwise, this was a very pleasant stay. If we have cause to visit Pittsburgh again, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

dszym,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. I sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority.

I'm sorry for any inconveniences you experienced with parking. Our valet service is available 24 hours a day, however, the service is handled through the front desk from midnight - 6:30am. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and found our friendly staff, great location, and comfortable accommodations well suited for your travels. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was the last stop on our motorcycle trip, the staff were fantastic and very accommodating. They let us ride our bikes into the underground parking garage that is for valet service. The room was excellent and the downtown location could not be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

RobGS,
We appreciate you selecting our hotel during your motorcycle trip, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. It's great to hear that our excellent service, accommodations, and location all met your satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $133 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing