We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$149
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$250
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$188
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
$196
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$276
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
176
212
61
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
212
61
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh ceilingsconvention centercultural districtpenn avenuegreat locationpnc parktypical courtyardcourtyard marriottvalet parkingfront deskacross the streetwithin walking distancesame blockthird floorvalet serviceheinz fieldsteelers game
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 477 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location for this hotel is always good when you are doing downtown activities. Great for cultural district and strip district. I feel we got a pretty decent rate for a Saturday night stay downtown. However, there were a few things that I just didn't expect in a decent hotel. For one, the shower temperature was horrible. I couldn't get it to stay at a normal warm temp for more than a minute or two. It would then suddenly turn SO hot I felt like I might have burn marks! So I had to quick make it freezing cold. It was very frustrating. A shower should be a basic thing in a hotel like that.

The worse thing was the housekeeping in the morning. We were only staying one night and checking out that morning, but early in the morning before we had woken up, they were banging on our door and shouting very loudly. Knowing we were checking out anyway, no housekeeping should have been stopping by in the morning, period. Nevermind continually banging and shouting until I finally got up and turned them away. Then housekeeping continued to be very loud and noisy out in the hallway. So we just cut our sleep short, got up and checked out early. Very disorderly and unprofessional in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Kelly P,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, and we’re glad our central location was well suited for your travel needs. We sincerely apologize for your unhappiness and the frustrations you encountered during your stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again

Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came to Pittsburgh to run the Pittsburgh Half Marathon. The hotel was sold out and completely full. They handled the crowd excellant. They took time and answered all of our questions. Our room was ready, clean and nice. The girl at the desk helped us with directions to Church and recommended restaurants within walking distance. Then helped us with a late check out after the race. The room was quiet. A totally enjoyable experience. I hated leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Getting ready for the influx of Marathoners was a lot of work, but a lot of fun. We were excited to see a lot of Marathon-veterans who have been so loyal to our Courtyard Marriott over the years, and eager to impress our first-time guests. The desk agents learned all about the Marathon and were prepare for all types of questions. The Bistro team was eager to impress and opened early to make sure everyone had a breakfast option before the 7am start time. Our Room Attendants did an incredible job on Sunday, not only accommodating late checkouts, but by turning the house over for the in-coming convention-goers. It was a busy weekend but a great time, and although we couldn’t line up along the route on that beautiful spring day, it doesn’t mean we weren’t cheering on all our guests! Please join us next year, and maybe stay a couple extra days so we can show a little of what Pittsburgh had to offer.

Thank you so much for your kind review, Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Only problem was that we could hear people outside on the ground through our 8th floor windows at 1am. It was muffled but you could still here people if they yelled out, which I believe on a Friday and Saturday in a college town usually happens. Its not a deal breaker but something to consider. Rooms were nice, clean hotel and the fact that they can brew me a good cup of Starbucks at anytime is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

lexycal,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We appreciate your kind comments about our great location and clean hotel. We're proud to offer a good cup of Starbucks to our guests, and we're glad that was an added perk to your stay. I apologize for any noisy disturbances from the street level that you encountered during your visit. We value you as our guest and hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was in Pittsburgh for a business meeting and stayed one night at the Courtyard. Staff was friendly. Room was OK. Ate dinner at Hotel restaurant Sonoma Grille, which was decent. Also, had breakfast at Hotel cafeteria, which is a small counter at which you can get coffee, cereal and a limited selection of hot foods - not impressive. Overall, this was an acceptable business hotel, but nothing that would make me go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshesToProveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear AshesToProveIt
I appreciate your candid review. Courtyards were designed for business travelers, so we work hard to offer the familiar Courtyard package, while distinguishing ourselves in the details. The hotel is a historic renovation in a vibrant downtown neighborhood. We work hard on offering excellent customer service by having a team of genuine and committed associates. Sonoma Grille is recognized as one of Pittsburgh's best restaurants, so its wonderful to have them as our neighbors. I do hope that you join us again and hope to win your loyalty when traveling to Pittsburgh.

Attentively,
Francisco Selles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Professional and friendly staff made a great impression.

Check-in and check-out procedures were fast and flawless. Special request to hold luggage for a late departure was handled with great courtesy.

Suite does not have a street view but the tall ceiling gives the room a great loft feel. Framed art photos, furniture layout and light positions are well thought out. This could be a young urban professional model space.

All electronic appliances worked, including the coffee pot. There was ice buildup in the fridge but not enough to block the door.

Internet connections are free. Dual options of Wi-fi or ethernet are great choices. Hotel Wi-fi are usually real dodgy but the ethernet plug-in will ensure a non-stop streaming experience.

Bathroom is spacious, clean and well stocked. Towels could be thicker but this preference does not count as a defect.

Soundproofing is good. Could barely hear doors closing in the corridor or any of the neighbors.

Meal options are just right. Sit-in or take out meals are available. Service is very fast. Portions are generous and the price is reasonable.

If you were to put the Courtyard in a matrix of amenities and compare it to competitors Westin and Renaisssance on factors such as location, service, character, and price, Courtyard stands on its own merit.

Will certainly book it again next time.

Room Tip: Marriott reward members might score extra points or upgrades. Check website for update.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lapster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Lapster2011...
I truly appreciate the time you took to write your review. I loved your observations and appreciate that you recognized our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity. It sounds like you are quite familiar with Downtown Pittsburgh and some of the hotels in the vicinity. All the area hotels have something unique to offer, similar to Pittsburgh's patchworks of neighborhoods. Nevertheless, we hope to stand out, and by your review sincerely hope you will be joining us again (and again). Please allow us to help you make the most of your next stay either by helping you explore our city or make the most of any business you may be tending to. Thank you once again for your patronage and your review.

At your service,
Francisco Sellés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews