We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Sherrill, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Exceptional Service”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A wonderfully decorated room, two queen beds, huge bathroom, high ceilings and huge windows with nice view from the 9th floor. In a pleasant safe neighborhood where we had no reservations about walking around at night. A short scenic walk (PNC Park, downtown restaurants) or cab ride (Carson St., Church/Consol Energy Center etc.), to any place in Pittsburgh we wanted to go. Have generally stayed in suburbs when visiting Pittsburgh, but won't in the future. I travel quite frequently and NEVER remember having a hotel staff that was so outgoing, friendly and accommodating. After a long car ride, arranged for early check in and were readily available to provide recommendations, directions and open the door each time we entered or left and I am not even a "Rewards" member, although may be joining now.

Room Tip: can only speak for #901, but would be pleased to have that one anytime - right near elevator, ice ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    208
    53
    13
    12
See reviews for
95
116
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Valet Parking was difficult, always waiting for car, cannot get it yourself. Parking $22 /day. No microwave in room, no nightlight in bathroom, breakfast not included. Room was 260.29 per night!! & 22 for parking. I went down the lobby for the "free coffee" and it wasn't available after 10AM. Only thing going for hotel was its location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good location. Nice, modern, clean rooms. High ceilings with nice views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureSeeker84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my granddaughter as a stopover on our way to Virginia. I loved the way the room was decorated. patravel89 said the room was stunning and I agree. The hotel is in an old and possible historic building, with very high ceilings. I was the Marriott Rewards member of the day and was given a free beverage from the market. A small thing but a nice little surprise. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Shaymus,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is excellent! We had a room with two queen beds that had city views and floor to ceiling windows and vaulted ceilings! These features made the room look much more open and was absolutely stunning! Our shuttle driver (I believe his name was Mike) was very friendly and more than willing to help us when we were in a bind! This showed me that this Courtyard's staff is extremely professionial and hospitable! I will be back to this property and I know I will recieve the same service! Thank you for such a wonderful day!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Patravel89,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thank you especially for recognizing Mike, it made his day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area.

Yours truly,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great service, great location, and great rooms. The rooms were well decorated, clean, and comfortable. We selected the hotel because it is within reasonable walking distance to PNC and also for comfort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Avtrav2,
Thanks very much for your review; it’s great to know you enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!

Thanks again,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,064 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Courtyard is in the heart of the Cultural District, and that is a fun area filled with decent places to eat. It is also within easy walking distance of PNC Park, which is certainly a major plus.(We were in town for a 3 game series). As for the hotel itself, it is decidedly ordinary, and certainly not even up to the standard of a typical Marriott(In fairness, Courtyard is a lower priced brands. We had 2 rooms, and they were good sized, clean and modern. While there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, the Bistro is off of the lobby, and serves a minimal(though inexpensive) breakfast. The valet service was slow. On balance, I would be willing to stay here again for baseball, although if given a choice I would select the nearby Renaissance Hotel.(It was sold out the weekend we were in Pittsburgh).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Mark P,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 945 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing