We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$149
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$101
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$187
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
$200
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$141
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
179
213
62
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
213
62
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh ceilingsconvention centercultural districtgreat locationpenn avenuepnc parktypical courtyardcourtyard marriottvalet parkingfront deskacross the streetwithin walking distancesame blockthird floorvalet serviceheinz fieldsteelers game
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 482 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown is located just around the corner from the convention center, so it's less than a five-minute walk door-to-door. The Courtyard's rooms have huge windows, comfortable beds, plenty of work area, and free high-speed Internet connections. I was surprised, however, that there was no mini-fridge. The hotel's "bistro" has a variety of beers on tap and an extensive wine list; and the bar has a couple of big-screen TVs for the sports fan. There are several other restaurants within a block of this hotel, including a Subway across the street that serves breakfast. My favorite eatery was the Sharp Edge (a bistro specializing in Belgian Beers). Finally, since this hotel is about a block from the Allegheny Riverfront, folks who like to walk (or jog) will love the setting (and the river traffic).

Room Tip: Get a room above the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thanks very much for your review tgw51, and for choosing our hotel. We’re glad to know you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a chance to enjoy the beautiful riverfront area. Also, we agree that Sharp Edge is worth a visit! Hope to see you again next time you’re in Pittsburgh.

Best regards,

David Lockard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were in Pittsburgh for a long weekend to visit with friends. The Courtyard is a good choice for downtown, just a short walk to everything in Downtown and a half block from the Convention Center. Unloading the car at curb-side and retrieving it later from valet was always a snap. Check-in was a breeze, where Jennifer carefully explained our room assignment and made sure we were happy wih it. There is some renovation going on, with no real inconvenience at all. Our corner-room 917 was newly renovated, equipped with a flat screen TV (no HD, though), microwave and mini-fridge. The two double beds were super, and we had a great view of the city skyline from the window. We used the free hotel shuttle to go to dinner one night in the Strip District, and another time for a trip to North Side. We also went to the Rivers Casino, and used the Casino shuttle bus for that - from the nearby Westin. There's quite a few restaurants in the same block as the hotel, one of which provides room service there. We tried the Seviche across the street on Friday night, and found a lively, young bar crowd, where we fit in just fine and had a fun time. The staff at the Courtyard was anxious to please us and we extend our thanks and appreciation for that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank French75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

My family went to Pittsburgh to see a family member perform in the play Camelot. The Play was delighful, our visist to Pittsburgh was wonderful but the filthiness of the Marriott Courtyard was a disappointment. We realize it is a older hotel but there is no reason for being dirty. The floors were filthy, the bathroom was dirty, old kleenex under the beds, and the card on the TV was covered with dirt and dust. The computer keyboard was all "greased" up . Old is understandable but in this day and age there is no reason for any hotel to be dirty. Sheets were paper thing, towels were so old they did not even absorb water.
The location of the Marriott is perfect for just about any visit to Pittsburgh. The staff was very pleseant and helpful . When I brought the dirty card from the TV the night attendant seemed totally unaffected by it.
Although the location is perfect we could not recommend this hotel due to the concerns over the uncleanliness A real disappointment in a Marriott hotel and quite a surprise.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntieNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Horrible hotel. Rack rate is 235.00 per night, valet parking only. When we got to our room, the previous guest's room bill was on our bed. Bed was okay. Ice machines on 7th and 6th floors were broken. The final straw was that breakfast wasn't included...it cost $20.00 and all they served us was eggs and orange juice. We went and got the rest ourselves. Plus they wanted gratuity on top of it all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepGoingPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear KeepGoingPhilly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I regret that the ice machines were not functioning properly, please accept my sincere apologies for that as well as the bill from a previous guest still being in your room. I hope this experience doesn’t sway you from choosing Courtyard or Marriott in the future as we truly appreciate your business.

Best regards,

David Lockard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

My husband and I were traveling for a Steelers Game. Great location to be able to walk to and from the stadium if you don't mind about a mile or so. The valet staff was incredible. They were absolutely the most friendly people that worked there. The shuttle took us to the Strip District for dinner and when we called to be picked up, there was a 40 minuet wait. They were very apologetic when we told them we would just walk back. When we got back, they remembered us and apologized again for not being able to pick us up.

The part of the customer service that is lacking would be the front desk staff, which is a shame considering they are typically an integral part of your stay. Long story short, I had Mariott gift cards and left them at home by accident. We called before we arrived to ask a few questions from the Manager on Duty. I work in the industry and know that going straight to the Manager on Duty would be the best route. Unfortunately for us, Nick answered the phone and wouldn't connect us with the manager. First he wanted to know what the problem was, which is understandable, let's filter out the unnecessary calls to the MOD, then we asked to speak directly to the manager. He then said, no, we couldn't speak to them. He wanted to know what the problem was. We told him there wasn't a problem, we had questions about a gift card. He then told us the MOD was busy. That wasn't such a big deal, annoying, but not enough to make us angry.

When we arrived at check in, there was a line behind a front desk attendant who was very sweet. She was helping the customer, giving directions, pointing them to the elevator, asking if they needed anything ect. She had a line...the other Front Desk Agent was standing there staring at the line but not asking to help the next guests. Very odd I thought, then I saw his name badge "Nick". I wasn't surprised. Once the line got shorter, I walked over to see if we could check in. I guess his grunt was him saying yes. He asked for our last name and that was it. He handed us our keys and didn't SAY A WORD!!! I'm not joking, not a word. I said "Thank you" and he grunted something again. I couldn't believe it. I just looked at him and shrugged. I think that is totally unacceptable. Front Desk Agents shouls be some of the nicest, warmest and most importantly, welcoming people around.

The room was great. Spacious (althought the TV is in a strange place) the bathroom was a great size, coffee maker was fantastic and plenty of room to throw all of our warm clothes everywhere. The decor was really nice as well. Room service stops running at 11pm which stinks, but not a deal breaker. The restaurant stops serving breakfast at 10am and we stumbled in around10:15am. The guy working there was nice as can be and honest too. He said things wouldn't be refreshed but that he just put out fresh items.

Other people mention parking garages are cheaper...which they are if you are NOT in town for a Steelers game. They charge you to park for the game on top of the price of overnight. We opted to valet and it was great...again, those guys were fantastic.

Overall, a great stay, a nice night away from our 12 month old baby and well worth it. Prices were a bit high for a marriott, but then again, I had anticipated paying with gift cards :o) But Nick, you need to find a smile and use it...even if you don't talk, smiling is a great idea!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soccergal_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews