We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS Requin

USS Requin
Ranked #37 of 157 things to do in Pittsburgh
Attraction details
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sub experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Really neat tour inside a real submarine. Hard to believe that people stayed there for long periods of time. Not for those who have issues with small/tight spaces.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fizzie-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was shocked to see it. Hot day, but enjoyed every miniture of the adventure. I had never been on a sub - quite small inside and a wonder how our sailors managed on long trips. God Bless Them!!!

Helpful?
Thank CKM6212011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Carnegie Science gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very mind-opening experience imagining what it was like living in one of these cramped tin cans with a world at war. Great educational and historical exhibit that Pittsburgh is fortunate to have on it's rivers.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mcgervey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tired old relic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

By default, this submarine is old - but little has been put into its maintenance over the years. Time for new exhibit at the children's museum.

Helpful?
Thank JoshBillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Naval Sub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

In town for a Pirates game. My wife and I where thinking of things to do during the day until the game that night. We walked by the USS Requin. I said hey lets go on. I was in the Navy, but on a surface ship. I had been on a Submarine once. Went and took the tour, very neat, and brings back alot of memories. Talked to the staff that was there. I think it would be cool for kids to go on. If you go on see if you can figure out how they get rid of the trash when they are under the water. I pointed it out to my wife and the staff person there said that I was one of very few people that knew that. I'll give you a hint. It is on the mess decks and look in the galley and then look behind you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jback1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Requin also viewed

 

Been to USS Requin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing