We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful building”

Cathedral of Learning
Ranked #8 of 166 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southwestern US
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Worth taking a campus tour of Univ of Pittsburgh to have the details in the building explained. [Our tour was free as part of a prospective student visit.] Study area on first floor looks like a scene from Harry Potter. Saw Russian and Syrian classrooms on first floor- authentic details in both, amazing to think of these spaces as classrooms. If possible, take the elevator up to the 36th floor and visit the Honors College for the great view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miss_W0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    170
    32
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
249 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Had a very unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is absolutely one of the coolest buildings in Pittsburgh, very tall. Through our hostel we stayed at (not another hostel), the guy took us up to the top and we were able to see beautiful views. I would at least recommending getting close enough to take pictures!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank natnoodle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Cathedral of Learning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is something to behold. Admission is free to the main building and to the nationality classrooms on the 3rd floor. Those nationality classrooms on the 1st have an entrnce fee of $4 which is well worth it. It was well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Level Contributor
291 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“I wanted to learn there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The class rooms are very unique. Each class room is named each country name and the design is style of the country. The room are decorated with stained glass, chandeliers, ethnic chairs, pictures, and carved doors.

I went there in weekday when they had classes. I was allowed to see the room from outside while they had classes. I heard there was tour weekend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great educational atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you visit the campus of the University of Pittsburg you need to tour the Catherdral of Learning. What a unique setting for classrooms and study areas. The sheer beauty of the place would make me want to go there to read. It truly is a combination of a library and a church.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Learning also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of Learning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing