We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Was suprised it was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Was suprised it was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2005

Hotel is in a good location for Station Square, within a mile. Hotel has a free shuttle in a 5 mile raddius. You can just park your car and take the shuttle around. There is a charge for Parking, the lot is secured. If you don't know the area get directions to the hotel. Not easy to see from rd. you turn off from.
Heard good things about resturant next door but did not make it there, to many choices in Station Square, in Pittsburgh in general.
Would love to go back just to check out the shops on the south side.

Check in was fast. Staff was laid back. Didn't seem bright but all were nice. Lobby was comfy, clean.

Room was great for the price. Sat.- $108.00, Much cheaper then other downtown hotels. We got a 2qn. bed room with a sleeper sofa, Chair and a table w/2 chairs. Mirowave, fridge, coffee pot and a small sink. Room it's self was clean.

Bathroom was a nice size. Seperate door which is great when your traveling with people. Nice ammenities, Love the rounded shower curtains, Thick towels. Bathroom Floor was not as clean as it should be.

Did not swim or do the breakfast bar.

Express Check-out was easy. Got reciept underdoor, left keys in room.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    166
    75
    27
    33
See reviews for
119
104
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2005

The hotel is an excellent value, the rooms or suites are clean and new. The location on the South Side is perfect. I have only one gripe which should not affect most people - the website eludes to wireless high speed Internet. While this is true in the LOBBY ONLY, I needed to scramble to a local Radio Shack to purchase a cable because the front desk doesn't have spares. I recommend the hotel, just bring your own cable.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2005

Overall pleased with accomodations. Shuttle service was very helpful. Front desk staff polite. Breakfast Server was very friendly and kind. Good price for being so close to downtown, and for use of shuttle service on a very busy holiday/football weekend. Would recommend and would come back.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2005

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times. It is actually a very nice hotel. Without a doubt the best Holiday Inn Express I have been in. It sits right on the river across from Duquense University and the City of Pittsburgh. South Side is a night life area of Pittsburgh, lots of bars, restaurants, etc... There is a $9 parking charge for an outside lot that does not make much sense, and the hotel is pricier than most HI Inn Expresses the cheapest you can usually get in is $99.00. All in all though a good hotel in a good location. Free high speed internet LAN connection in the room.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2004

Nice new clean hotel. Rooms are large and comfortable. During my first stay--and my first visit to Pittsburgh--I was unsure about the location. Carson St is a bit rough around the edges; I later learned that it was an historic presevation district and one of the most busy areas of Pittsburgh, filled with restaurants, shops, traffic and people! (The hotel is not directly on Carson St so there was no traffic noise in our room.) All our dinners that stay were within walking distance of the hotel and soon the area felt more comfortable and friendly!
The location is as close to downtown as you can get without actually being in downtown. We did not have that much need to be in downtown anyway, it turned out.
We had good maps of the city, so finding our way around was not too difficult although we did take a few unexpected "tours" here and there!
During our second stay we even got a good deal on a room with a Jacuzzi (on-line) and that was most enjoyable!
The breakfast is good (a lot of carb full selections though; we started eating a lot of the hard cooked eggs and oranges instead). The in-room coffee maker is convenient but the coffee is bad...just go downstairs and bring some up to the room, or use some you bought at a Warehouse District shop, like we did! Staff is courteous and professional. Our only hotel to stay in while in Pittsburgh!

Helpful?
3 Thank paulryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmaduke, AR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2004

We spent two nights here (July 20, 21) and were very pleased with this hotel. We had a great view of the river and city. We had a suite with two queen beds and a pullout sofa bed. This worked well since I was traveling with three adults and two children. It is located fairly close to Station Square but not within walking distance. Keep in mind that in addition to your room rates, you will be charged $9.00 per night for parking. The rooms include a microwave, refridgerator and free high speed internet. What else could you need from a hotel!!

The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly. However, sometimes we had difficulty contacting the front desk. A couple of times when we rang the front desk, no one ever answered. Upon walking to the front desk, we were always assisted by helpful and friendly staff. We used the laundry services here and after a couple of loads, the dryer stopped working. They not only refunded our money, but took our wet clothes to be dryed in the hotel dryers and then delivered them nice, dry and folded to our room.

If you are not familiar with downtown Pittsburgh, expect to have some difficulty getting around. We accidently crossed bridges to downtown Pittsburgh on accident. However, it wasnt too difficult to get turned around and back across the same bridge again.

While in Pittsburgh, we attended a Pirates baseball game. The new PNC Park is awesome!!! One of the nicest stadiums that I have been in. It also has a great view of the city. We parked in Station Square and rode the boat over to the stadium. This allowed us to avoid the traffic, see the city from the river at night and the kids loved it.

We also visited Kennywood amusement park. This older park is very, very nice. It has lots of rides for the entire family and plenty of shade from all of the large trees throughout the park. Our seven year old son loved the "Jackrabbit" and the "Racer". These are two old wooden coasters, but mild enough for a seven year to love it. I would definitely recommend a visit to Kennywood if you are in the area.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Pittsburgh and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to be in the area.

Shannon Jackson

Helpful?
8 Thank shakejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing