We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I am here for a work meeting and wanted to come on right away! Alyson at the front desk and Robin were so helpful! I had no problems checking in and both were very informative about the area. The room is very well appointed. I would definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am ecstatic that you absolutely loved our staff! Alyson and Robin are two of our true shining stars. Our rooms are well equipped and our staff will point you in the right direction of where to go within walking distance; from which there are so many places to head to! A right out of our lot will reach you to Carson St; From there, just make a Left and you can find anything that you can possibly think of. Following down the next 19 blocks you will find over 200 bars, restaurants and retail shops. Enjoy Pittsburgh, and we cannot wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    174
    76
    28
    33
See reviews for
123
107
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

i am from the south and hospitality is always nice to see in a big city. All of their staff were very nice and could look me in eye and say hello. The rooms were clean and it was in a great location to all the local bars and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this area of Pittsburgh.

James

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBarry1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I greatly appreciate your particular notice to our top-notch hospitality! Every member of our team takes pride in what they do and love to assist and take care of our guests. Our brand’s motto is to provide Great Hotels That Guests Love. Well, we Love Our Guests! Thank you also for taking notice to our clean rooms and superior location. We look forward to seeing you again soon, as well as many friends you may send our way! Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past 5 years. I choose this hotel for its location but I will be looking elsewhere for my next stay. Rooms definitely need upgraded. Internet was free but quite slow. Overall cleanliness was just average. Best part was staff in breakfast area. Just overall disappointment.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I extend my deepest apologies for our accommodations not exceeding your expectations. I strongly encourage you to visit us again, as we are in the final stages of completing our upgrades. We do however take pride in our staff. You can always expect Top-Notch service with our staff that is eager to help and always aiming to please. Stop back to see us again and you most surely will not be disappointed.
Sincerely,
Gladys B
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love Holiday Inn Expresses. They may not be 4 or 5 star rated but they are much better than some of the other hotels I have rated with similar ranking. The location is very convenient to bars, restaurants, other hotels, the gateway clipper and shopping. The amenities are very nice and modern, rooms cozy and the beds are quite comfy. It helps a lot that rooms have microwaves and fridges, especially when traveling with kids. The complimentary internet works well and the highlight of my stays here is the free breakfast, with a very adequate selection of food and giant cinnamon rolls. The one bad note is parking, if you can't or choose not to pay for parking, trying to find space on the street is dicey except in the evenings or night, but there is shuttle service if needed for other short trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! First of all, I appreciate your initial liking to our brand! You are correct with your ranking; our property is truly one of a kind! You cannot beat our location. Being within close proximity to bars, nightlife, shopping and tourism, you cannot go wrong! Our rooms are spacious, clean and inviting; not to mention the fact that all of our rooms come equipped with a mini-kitchenette –including microwave and fridge. Wi-fi is always free as well as our hot buffet-style breakfast! Our warm cinnamon rolls are always a perfect start to your day. The parking however is paid, yet the cheapest in the area. $14.00 allows you unlimited in-and-out privileges. Street parking is always available nearby, free of charge; and our shuttle service is always available to take our guests anywhere within 3 miles, 7am – 11pm. We thank you for your excellent review and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barhaven , Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Holiday inn South Side met or exceed most of my expectations. Have visited a few Holiday Inns and feel I know what to expect.

Location is good, for the most part (I'll explain later). It is right at one of the bridges into downtown. It was easy to get to pretty much everything. As you were downtown already, getting places during rush hour was no problem. I have stayed at other hotels in Pittsburgh, only minutes to downtown, and found the short drive into the city could take a while depending on the time of day. If you can avoid the interstates or tunnels into and out of the city during rush hour you will save a bit of time and frustration.

Shops were close by, 2 gas stations within a block or so, Liquor store was a 5 minute drive, Diesel night club also a few blocks away. Parking is in the lot at the hotel and was $14 per night.

There is also street parking available. It is close by. Metered during the day. If you drive around enough you can find street parking during the day. Evenings and night were also available, and often free and easier to find.

The only bad thing about the location of the Hotel was the Train. The train tracks run very close to the hotel and the train goes by during the evening, night and the early morning and feels the need to blow the horn on passing the Hotel. Not super loud, but enough to be annoying. Bring earplugs, it will be worth it. This was the only less than optimal thing about the hotel.

Now the good things. The staff were great. Present and helpful. Everyone I met. Alyison at the front desk made sure all was well and April (and Dee) in the lounge for breakfast went above and beyond. The Breakfast are was a highlight. The menu changed from day to day, the food was hot and fresh, and they worked hard to keep is clean and restocked. Thank You ladies.

Mr Chip was the shuttle bus driver and was quick with directions and sight seeing suggestions. The bus is a nice option, for short trips within 3 miles.

The rooms, (we had two) were large, updated and clean. The rooms have nice high ceiling and lots of square footage. Both our rooms, (the first room had 1 King with a fold out couch and the second room had 2 Queens and a fold out couch), had a fridge, microwave and sink in the room. The queen beds were real queens and not the often encountered mini queens. The King was a nice big bed. The couch was a fold out and reportedly quite comfortable. Note that the sheets and pillow were in the dresser drawers.

Heating and cooling was good and not to loud. The windows had blackout shades and the rooms look east and west, not north and south. You get a sideways look at the city from both sides of the Hotel. The hotel only has 6 floors so elevators were quick and not a long wait.

The pool and fitness center were on the first floor at the rear and close to the rear exit to the parking lot, which was well lit at night. We were visiting in the winter so the patio out front of the hotel was not open.

The hotel its self was modern and clean, bright and inviting. Had a good time, enjoyed my stay and once again thanks to April for great breakfasts. Would recommend this Hotel and visit myself again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are a bit quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Good location and easy parking. The hotel is Close to lots of restaurants and cool shops. The rooms are large and the linens were fresh. breakfast was the usual but a good usual. The staff was quite accommodating

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I appreciate you taking notice to our excellent location. I thank you also for noticing our large rooms and crisp linens. Our breakfast crew is one of the best; always taking the extra step to provide our lasting impression of our guests’ stay. I will pass on your kind comments to all of my staff, and I can honestly say we all look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here with friends in the summer of 2013 for a concert. The hotel was very classy and modern and had a good atmosphere. There is also free continental breakfast thats pretty good. The hotel had a free shuttle to the stadium where the concert was so that was awesome. The rooms are very spacious, modern, and clean. The beds were also soft. The location was nice it is in walking distance from a variety of restaurants and bars. There is a $14 parking fee that you pay up on leaving and the parking lot can get full pretty fast, we had trouble finding a spot one night. Overall it was a good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niicolestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I appreciate your comments on our overall offerings. Our deluxe continental breakfast is better than others, yet it is our staff that truly makes it supreme. I am elated to hear you took use of our courtesy shuttle, and found our rooms to be spacious and clean, with most comfortable mattresses. Our location is prime, with over 200 bars, restaurants, retail shops and concert venues within walking distance. Parking is most reasonable in the area, $14.00 gets you in-and-out privileges in our secure lot. We appreciate your great review and anticipate your return!
Sincerely,
Gladys B
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing