We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place, Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK place, Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

Our experience with the HI-X on south 10th was a 3 night stay on arrival mid-month and another night a week and a half later just prior to our flight home. Things started off pretty well but gradually declined.

Check-in was smooth and our room on the 4th floor reasonably clean, comfortable, and quiet - until the trains came by at all hours. Apparently there's a requirement to sound horns at the grade crossing less than a block away.

While our room was reasonably clean to start with, day-to-day maintenance was less than stellar. We had to ask at the front desk for a replacement roll of T.P. our third night. Vacuum cleaner wasn't run during our stay so some minor debris missed before our check-in was still on the carpet when we checked out.

Nevertheless, we returned several days later for one more night before our flight home. This time, housekeeping and maintenance issues were more evident. The coffee pot hadn't been cleaned and we found two dirty wash cloths (one behind the bathroom door, one draped over the shower curtain rod) from previous guests. Mildew in the caulking around the tub was very apparent this time, too.

When we reported that we were unable to connect to the Internet, possibly due to a broken connector on the supplied ethernet cable (No Wi-Fi here) we were given a new cable, but when that failed to work, the front desk lady seemed to have an "oh well" attitude. No further effort to remedy the situation was made during our stay. The computer in the business center off the lobby allowed us to print airline boarding passes successfully, however.

Complimentary breakfast was OK, but with sausage and factory-made omelettes absent on weekend mornings.
Parking costs an extra $12.00 per day.

  • Liked — Reasonably close to downtown & southside
  • Disliked — $12. / day parking, lax housekeeping
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    172
    76
    27
    33
See reviews for
121
106
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

Great location for a great price in Pittsburgh. Convenient to Downtown, Oakland, and freeways. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Stayed there for 4 nights. Breakfast, high speed internet were fine. Front desk and housekeeping service good. Only negative- On weekends, parking lot gets full early. Lots of cars had to park illegally which made entering and exiting the lot tricky. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, good location
  • Disliked — nothing stands out as bad or needing improvement
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

We picked the HI Express for our first trip to Pittsburgh, 2 nights. Turned out to be a fine choice. It's located right on the south bank, with some rooms with river and downtown views (ours wasn't). The rooms , and hotel, seemed quite new, spacious, good amenities, we prepaid and had a room with sitting area, wet bar, small fridge, sofa etc. We too had a slow shower drain, but for 2 nights we coped, didn't bother complaining (they were full anyway). Add to this a full breakfast w/ all the muffins, fruit, cereal, yogurt you could want, plus hot omelettes and sausage, coffee, tea, juice etc, cookies and coffee in the lobby at all times, and even a small pool w/ natural light, I can't imagine getting more in-city for the $150 rate (including tax). We could walk to the Golden Triangle easily across the bridge 50 yards away, or stroll to the inclines up the riverbank. For further treks, the shuttle dropped us door to door and picked us up later in the day when we called in a for a ride back to the hotel. Nothing to carp about here, only reason not 5 stars is it's just not that kind of hotel (top flight service, fancy, top of the line etc). We'd stay again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Slow draining shower and request for river view which was never received from Web site
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

Our group of six friends all stayed comfortably in a two-bed suite with a sofabed. The room was quite spacious and clean. We had a minor problem with a slow drain in the shower and the hotel allowed us to move to an equally sized room across the hall. The complimentary breakfast was great and included some hot foods in addition the the standard pastries and cereal. Secure parking is only $9, but we were able to park on the street behind the hotel for free.

The South Side is a lively and diverse Pittsburgh neighboorhod that may not be for everyone, but I highly recommend this spot for young professionals and couples looking for a fun evening out at Carson Street's 20+ blocks of bars and restaurants. There's also a riverfront biking/running trail nearby.

Families or those who are used to staying at suburban hotels may the crowds coming out of the bars late at night can get a little rowdy. However, the block the hotel is on is relatively quiet for sleeping.

Bottom line, this was an excellent Holiday Inn and a great place to stay for a fun evening in one of Pittsburgh's most lievely neighborhoods.

  • Liked — Free breakfast and small business center with free internet.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brady15203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge springs, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

My friends and I were biking the 2007 Greenway Sorjourn and looked for lodging for the night before the trip. The staff was so helpful and very nice. The area where we parked was secure and the staff went out of their way to make us feel that our bikes would be safe. The rooms were lovely and smelled fresh. We liked the idea of no comforters on the beds for cleanliness purposes. We would stay again.

  • Liked — price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — neighborhood
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

The hotel was great, their is parking in the back (5 bucks I think) it is easy to find and the checkin was a breaze. The room was absolutely huge and tastfully decorated, looked like a JR suite at many hotels.

With a king size bed, a desk area, a small table with chairs, microwave, seperate sink, medium size fridge this is the type of room you could stay at for a week and feel like you are not squished in some sparse room. The breakfast in the morning was above average and the room it is in was very nicely decorated.

The area is sketchy to say the least. I would not advise walking anywhere near the hotel at night, it did not look safe to be out late at night. We had no problems going from the hotel to the many clubs, restaurants, and such that are about a block away. We where quick to make sure we got home and did not duck down some of the side streets. There is a free shuttle anywhere within 2 miles which I would suggest taking.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sVT_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

Stayed here for night night in mid-May while in town to see a Pirates game with friends at PNC Park. We had a guidance system in the car so it was very easy for us to find, right on the river in the middle of the up and coming South Side of Pittsburgh. As soon as we checked in, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They explained to us about the free shutlle that pretty much takes guests anywhere they want to go on a first come first serve basis. The room was large, two queens and a pull out couch, the view wasn't spectacular, but not a wall either. One of the best features is the shower, the pressure was outstanding, probably the best hotel shower I have ever had. The shuttle took us to drop off point right across the pedestrian bridge from PNC Park. If you have a chance, try to see a game here, the park is small but nice, it's never full so you can get great seats, and the prices are some of the best in baseball. We even took the ballpark tour the following morning, and for $6, it was fantastic. The area the hotel is in seems pretty safe, there are alot of bars for the 20-something crowd on the same street, but you don't hear any noise in the hotel. Parking was $9 in a lot behind the hotel, which was understandable for the location. The hotel features a free breakfast which was more than satisfying, I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Liked — Free Shuttle to anywhere, Shower Head.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marvingardens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing