We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Mom, Dad, and Two boys- sucessful weekend!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Evansville, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mom, Dad, and Two boys- sucessful weekend!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I (with our two sons ages 7 and 11) booked this hotel via Hotwire and it came in much cheaper than other downtown hotels which can run pretty high for our budget on the weekends. Our main objective was to take in a Pirates game. In addition to this, we walked to the Point, Station Square, and the Strip Marketplace. The Point and the Markets were very fun and interesting. The boys had fun running through the Point's park and tasting the Market's foods and drinks.
This hotel provided a shuttle that took use EVERYWHERE we wanted to go downtown. We curtiously tipped the driver and they were always thankful, friendly, and helpful. On the downside, it is good we didn't have a tight schedule as you never knew if you were waiting 5 or 20 minutes for the shuttle to arrive back to the hotel. Coming from out of town and not wanting to pay for parking, we were more than willing to wait without complaint.
This hotel was a hotspot for young party-goers. There is a bar scene within walking distance so there was many groups of young adults looking to have a good time. This didn't hinder our time, it was just noted.
Not any family-friendly restaurants within walking distance but the shuttle would have taken us whereever.
I will say the pool is VERY VERY small and was crowded. The boys swam for 20 minutes and were ready to go back to the room.
The fitness room is well stocked: two treadmills, one eliptical, one bike machine, free weights, yoga mats, medicine balls, and three TVs.
Good breakfast but it was crowded most of the morning.
Our room was very cleam and our bed was VERY comfortable. The matress was better that what we have at home!
Other reviewers noted that the check-in area has heavy traffic and this IS true. The check-in procedure needs to be revamped to accomodate more cars SAFELY pulled into the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muddmovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor!! I am glad to hear your family had a great weekend and received a good deal while booking on a third-party site. I hope to hear that you did make it to the Pirates Game, which you did mention was the main objective of your visit. On top of this, I am especially thrilled that you and your family were able to walk to and enjoy, Station Square, Point State Park, Market Square and the Strip District! In this season, the weather is too perfect to wander amongst these areas, making Pittsburgh that much more desirable as a city-location/vacation visit.
Yes, we do have a courtesy hotel shuttle that runs consistently on a First-Come-First-Serve basis for ALL of our guests, anywhere within Three miles. Now, most city property hotel shuttles do run on the hour; and with ours being first come first serve, the wait time is typically never more than 15-30minutes, at most. In the rare occurrence that we do run a longer than normal wait time, we do have a back-up shuttle, and we also have 2 front desk staff that are fully trained to cover in the event of a heavy traffic situation or a high volume event. I am also glad you mentioned the city’s parking situation… most of all locations downtown have hefty parking fees, as well as limited space, which especially make our hotel shuttle convenient.
There are actually quite a few “Family Style” Restaurants near-by. If you are unsure of the area, we openly welcome use of our hotel shuttle. Any one of our experienced drivers will gladly take you directly to a restaurant suiting your family’s taste.
The pool area is next on our “To- Do” list of renovations, but we are limited on space. We are elated to hear that you loved our newly expanded Fitness Center! We put a lot of thought into the new additions we wanted to place in the facility.
I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast room and our breakfast staff. I sincerely apologize our space was slightly crowded, yet I am thrilled you enjoyed our Breakfast Staff. They do the best with what they have and I can truly say they never disappoint.
Yes, our check-In can become heavy at times. We have a high volume of prospective guests, and we love every guest that stays with us. During every check-in experience, we want to let every guest know all of our amenities, and we do not want to hold back; directions, dinner recommendations, tourist attractions, this is what we relay to our guests. When you pull up in your car, the front area might be crowded, yet our Front office Staff will direct you where to park.
Thank you for mentioning the comfort level of our mattresses! This is the main service we aim to provide, being your home away from home. Our staff here at The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-Southside anxiously awaits your return. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    165
    74
    26
    33
See reviews for
119
104
23
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We needed a hotel for a one night stop on our road trip and this place was just right, if just a bit overpriced.

The room was clean and spacious and the staff was extremely nice and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast doesn't hurt.

Note: You have to pay extra for parking.

Tip: Sign up for the IHG Rewards membership and you'll get free snacks when you check in!

We would definitely stay here agin, if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drcortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

While the staff was kind and attentive...the bad news is:

1. Constant traffic in front of the hotel - and dangerous to cross the street.
2. Dated and smelly room.
3. Balance of the hotel was circa 1980 decor.
4. Bed felt like 1,000 knives were sticking in my body.
5. Charged me $200.00 for the above pleasure.
6. Abandoned builing not quite boarded up literally feet away!

I checked out two days early and ran like hell.

Don't do it !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billandteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! As a person well accustomed to the industry, I must say, I am truly disappointed to hear the way that you felt in regarding your experience with us. If you would contact the hotel directly, we would be sure to take any appropriate measure to make this situation right. First of all, I personally welcome you back with open arms to see our brand new lobby, breakfast room as well as our newly designed and renovated rooms. You did make a point of the intersection we are located in. Yes, it is a very busy intersection, being at the foot of a major bridge crossing over a river; connecting one part of town to another. Yet, it is certainly not unsafe. There are secure traffic signals that direct all foot and vehicle traffic along each passing of the intersection. The “appeared” abandoned building next to our parking lot is actually far from such; it is part of a Historic Landmark. This rear portion of the Oliver Bath House is a place where years ago, 3 “Southside” Locals climbed onto the rooftop, to spray-paint what appear to be Llamas or Goats. Such vandalism turned to be a trademark, as being the first view you see upon crossing over the famous 10th St Bridge, into the Southside. The building has lacked a staff to upkeep in previous years, yet further preservation is scheduled in the very near future.
Again, since our renovation, all of our mattresses have been replaced so I assure you that during a future stay, you will receive the upmost comfort.
I hate to hear of the unfortunate circumstances during your stay, yet I do appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. Please do allow us another chance to wow you as our guest and I am confident you will want to make us your “Home away from Home” during your travels here to Pittsburgh. I anxiously await your return.
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The desk staff greeted me and made conversation every time I passed the desk. I really appreciated that! The hotel room was clean and had a little wet bar and everything. I thought the price could've been lower by about $20-30, but other than that, it was great!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wow, 5 stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I greatly appreciate your feedback on our Front Desk acknowledgement! This is what we are known for; we thrive to provide a family atmosphere for all of our guests. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed everything in our fully equipped rooms, and that you found everything to be comfortable, suiting your needs and expectations. Yes, our rates are slightly higher than some other in area competition; we are a Downtown-City-Center, and our location is prime. Please call direct upon making future reservations, we always offer room upgrades and/or discounts for our return guests, as well as out IHG Rewards Club Members! We look forward to your return in the future!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. clair
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable. We slept like babies all night. Parking is convenient and only 14 dollars which is very reasonable. The only drawback is the people at the front desk were less than friendly.

Room Tip: We had a king room on the sixth floor. It had a great view and was very quiet. We would stay here a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gosteelers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! Much appreciative thanks regarding our clean and comfortable rooms. The Serta mattresses we use are the best of the best. I appreciate that you felt the safety and convenience of our parking lot. I regret to hear that you found our front desk staff “less than friendly.” That is not what we are known for. I will research the situation to pinpoint so I can address what really happened. Please join us again so you can truly see how amazing our Front Desk Staff can be.
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were welcomed with such enthusiasm it felt as if we were visiting family! The hotel staff were very accommodating all during our stay. Rooms were nice, breakfast was very good but the service we most appreciated was the free shuttle service which we used multiple times! The manager- Robin has found her calling in welcoming strangers to her hotel and city!

Room Tip: KIng sized rooms 6th floor were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Wow, 5 stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I greatly appreciate your comments regarding your warm welcome upon arrival of our hotel. Our staff truly thrives on providing the same family atmosphere to all of our guests that we would expect while travelling. I am also glad to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms to be spacious and comfortable, our complimentary breakfast wholesome and delicious, and most importantly, our shuttle service! Our drivers are top notch, and know the area like no other, all being lifetime natives. As far as Robin, the true hidden gem of the whole hotel experience; once you receive one of her hugs, you better expect one upon your every return. She is the best at what she does and she opens her heart to everyone. We look forward to your return and are always ready to show you around the city that we love and we all call “HOME.”
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala, fl
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We just stayed in a suite for two nights and were impressed with many aspects of this hotel. It is very compact and well designed, maintaining all of the essential features in a small, easy to navigate hotel. The staff we encountered were all friendly and accommodating. Plenty of variety at breakfast, including several hot items. The parking was gated and conveniently located directly behind the hotel with a secure entrance. While it's not really a walkable area, it was a short drive to the attractions we wanted to visit, and they offer a free shuttle within 3 miles.

One minor frustration is that the rear entry key card scanner seems to malfunction often and you have to repeatedly scan your card. Guests were constantly having to let other guests in, which defeats the security measure. Also, the surrounding area was a little sketchy, but that's true about many city hotels.

Overall, this hotel was a good find and helped make our stay in Pittsburgh a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersM2M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Wow, 5 stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I appreciate your elaborate review as well as the pleasant comments made towards our staff and facility. Actually, we have over 200 bars, restaurants and retail shops within walking distance, just one block up, along our famous Carson St. If the lights, dining and nightlife are not your fancy, our courtesy hotel shuttle most definitely provides transportation to locations within 3 miles. From 7am – 11pm, daily, our 3-mile shuttle radius covers areas such as many of our well known museums, Point State Park, Rivers Casino, all 3 major sporting/concert venues, Market Square, Strip District and both inclines. We also shuttle to all of the lovely tours that the city provides such as Just Ducky Tours, Double Decker Tours, Molly’s Trolleys and one of our favorites, The Gateway Clipper Fleet!
We are aware of the issue with the key-reader at our back entrance. We apologize for the inconvenience and want to assure you that the unit has since been replaced.
There is so much that our wonderful City of Pittsburgh has to offer, for all ages, young and old alike; tourists, couples and families, and we are thrilled that you chose to share your time with us, so we could assist in making your experience a great one! We can’t wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing