We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad But Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was there for two nights for business with two others. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was recently renovated so everything was spacious and clean. We used the shuttle service which was helpful. The pillows were pretty flat and the mattress seemed slighty worn out... not too comfortable but good enough for some sleep.

The only problem we had was once we got our room keys and settled into our rooms, the staff called to notify us that we had to relocate due to work that was scheduled to be conducted on those rooms the next morning. Obviously this was something of an incovenience as we had all unpacked. We moved to another floor and settled in. However; one of those with our group had to move once again to another floor as his second room smelled very much like cigarette smoke. He was settled after the third try.

Besides that... I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kfah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thanks for sharing with us on TripAdvisor about your most recent stay. I’m glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and our room’s spacious. Our shuttle is truly asset, especially for our business travelers. I’m sorry to hear about the room move, I understand how that could be a major inconvenience to you, and your colleagues. Renovation can be a gift and a curse and we always want to have the guest best interest in mind. Thanks for your kind words and we hope that you will visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from a weekend stay at Pitts south side hotel and I wanted to be sure to take the time to say how wonderful our stay was! The customer service received through front desk personnel was always accommodating and above friendly:) The breakfast was wonderful, along with all the "extras" we received to make our stay "special"! (ie: water and snacks upon arrival and freshly baked cookies!) We will definitely return and are sure to recommend your hotel to others! Thank you HIE Pitt South side for your awesome hospitality!

Room Tip: Every room at this hotel is great! Rooms are so comfy, roomy, and beautiful:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ped222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thanks for sharing with us on TripAdvisor about your most recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff prides ourselves on delivering “personal” and quality service. I am glad you loved our breakfast as well; our breakfast attendants put some extra love in it. Thanks again for your positive feedback, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 mights over Labour Day Weekend. We had come to Pittsburgh (via New York) to attend a wedding. We had a wonderful warm welcome, an amazing, large, comfortable, clean room and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. We used the shuttle service on several occasions and thought this was a real bonus. The drivers were so friendly and informative as were all staff. Ashley in particular was delightful and went out of her way to help with our queries. Breakfast was far superior to HIE in England. Overall we were very impressed by the warmth and friendliness of Pittsburgh people in general and by the hotel staff in particular. You should be very proud of your excellent hotel and your lovely city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasmine1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are truly committed to service at this hotel and we are glad that you, our valued guest take notice. Our shuttle is a great feature that most of our guest love, and find to be a tremendous asset. Pittsburgh is a wonderful city and we are glad you chose to stay with us during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope that you will visit our city and us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed hear one night for a business tip. The hotel is very easy to find. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I was greated as a PC member and offered a bottled of water and a snack at checkin. Also cookies and fresh coffee in the lobby. The room was large and in great condition. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Parking will cost you $14/night. I decided to go to a pirates game. They offer a free local shuttle at will drop you off at the "T", but it was a nice night and I decided to walk. It's a little bit of a hike across the 10th street bridge, but I wanted the walk. The "T" is a quick ride into the city and it"s free within the city.

I thought the breakfast was a little better than the typical HIE fare. overall, I can't find anything to complain about. I would definitly stay here again if in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slg_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for placing your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you had a pleasant stay and found our location great, and our staff very accommodating. Our rooms are newly remodeled and I’m glad you like them and find them spacious. Our shuttle is one of our greatest assets, and everyone seems to love our breakfast, we put a little extra love in it. We appreciate your wonderful comments, and hope you will join us again soon. Thank you once again for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at Holiday Express Pitts Southside on two seperate occasions. Both times we have experienced great staff (Teresa Ponce, front desk) was especially helpful with our questions and concerns. We will make this our Hotel that we stay in when we go to Pittsburg. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. One of the most important things about service is that is not just great, but that it’s consistent. We have been working on offering both consistent and great service, and I am so glad that you our value guest have noticed. What can I say about Teresa she is a great member of our team, and brings a fresh approach to service and takes extreme pride in her work. Thank you for this wonderful review, and we can’t wait for the chance to wow you again : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh Southside. Room was big and very clean. Everyone we dealt with was so helpful and pleasant. We utilized the free shuttle to go to a restaurant for dinner. We actually used the driver's suggestion and loved it. Since we needed to be at the Amtrak station at 7am the next morning and it was earlier than the shuttle runs, we were told to make arrangements for a taxi to come early the next morning. When we talked to the front desk that night, he said, hold on, let me make a phone call. We assumed he was calling the cab company. He actually called the shuttle driver at home and asked if he come come into work a little earlier so could take us to the station and he said yes. Dave, the morning driver was there bright and early. We grabbed some breakfast to go (too bad we didn't have more time since the free continental breakfast looked great) and we we off. We felt like everyone we came in contact with treated us like family. I would absolutely stay there in we find ourselves in Pittsburgh again.

Room Tip: there was 4 of us and we booked a room with 2 beds and a pullout couch. very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suz19050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy that you found your room accommodations clean and spacious, and find all of our staff to be “helpful and pleasant”. I would also like to thank you for acknowledging two of our staff members who went above and beyond, to make sure you and your guest got to the Amtrak station. We thank you again for your kind words, and hope to see you again soon…Your family at the Holiday Inn Express South Side!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recenlty stayed at this hotel, on a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. The Front Desk Staff were truly welcoming! The Hotel is currently under renovation, and our room I would say was 90% complete with renovation. We had a beautiful view of the Downtown Skyline. Our stay was enjoyable, however, I will say the Breakfast was not up to par with Holiday Inn Express standards. The Pancake machine did not work, and the scrambled eggs were hard and did not taste right. May have been an off day.......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rktek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thanks for staying with us and taking time to tell us about your stay. I am ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our secret weapons is our rooms facing the parking lot they have amazing views of our downtown skyline. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy our breakfast, when you come back we will make sure we will have pancakes for you! We thank you for your positive feedback, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 72 in Pittsburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $107 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing