We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night while traveling through the area. Upon arrival we learned we were in a smoking King room. The desk manager immediately offered to upgrade us to a non-smoking King jacuzzi room at no charge. The room was large and comfortable.
The entire hotel seemed very clean. complimentary breakfast was varied and better than expected. The staff was helpful and attentive. Secured parking was convenient and easy to use. It was an excellent value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajones0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

So I wasn't sure where this hotel was located and didn't expect a lot from an HI express, but it was literally spotless. The staff was so friendly and there was fenced parking. It is right down the road from a lot of restaraunts/bars and close to all of pittsburgh. Breakfast was amazing and they even upgraded me to a jacuzzi room for free. In fact every time I go to the Steel City I try to get this hotel again, but it is usually booked because it is so nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oh_Henry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I travel often for my job and I found this hotel to be clean and modern. The hotel is in a great location (10th street on Pittsburgh’s South Side) and is located near plenty of restaurants, bars, and entertainment. The price for this hotel is a little bit more than what I typically would see relative to the value and I strongly recommend looking into “lowering” the price through services like Priceline (which I did for my one night’s stay). I do have to state that I was awaken several times by trains that run close to the hotel but I find this to be true of all of the hotel’s I have stayed at on the South Side. The running trails down by the river are OK but I admit that I liked the trails up by the Spring Hill Suites hotel much better. Parking is expensive at $14/day but that seems to be the norm for hotels over on the South Side.

Pros: located in the middle of everything. Cons: Value vs. Price is a little out of whack, car parking fees

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms are away from the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NY3BStra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

After reading some troubling reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, reasonably quiet and the free shuttle service was great. The only drawback was the shuttle would not go into town or back from town from about 4:30 until 6:30 due to "rush hour" even on weekends.

Room Tip: Top floors are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ourphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed at this Holiday Inn for a night with my family while visiting the USA this past month. The hotels' lobby was very clean and inviting. The front desk had a bit of an attitude when we asked them of how to get to the local attractions. The hotel does feature a shuttle to local attractions. This was a great service! The rooms were spacious and we had no probnlems with cleanlieness. Overall I would stay here, but would consider other hotels and would recommend you to do the same!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TotalRnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel with its location and helpful staff makes the rates for rooms worth it. It is located near plenty of bars, restaurants and entertainment however, the area need more for the over 40 traveler. Just as the hotel advertises, it is on the, “Bourbon Street of the South Side.” The facilities are quaint and in need of an update, however the staff and breakfast facilities make up for the décor. Over the past six months I have notice a change in the hotel staff and overall cleanliness of the common areas. The staff is doing a great job of changing a deteriorating lobby and common areas into a place you would want to stay. The rooms need upgrading, i.e. Flat screen monitors, and updated furniture. The current furniture reminds me of a college dormitory. There is only one shuttle so getting around using their courtesy Van can take a few minutes longer than hotels having two vehicles. The shuttle drivers are very friendly and helpful, Mr. Chip and Dave the Man, can make the wait well worth. I would like to thank the management for making these changes and making the hotel a place I can continue visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the odd side of the building, wonderful view especially from rooms 601.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We booked this hotel after we couldn't find anything closer to the University and we were pleasantly surprised. We normally stay at the Wyndham and I expected a generic room and we were impressed with the view and the size of the room. The room was very clean and it was only a 15 minute ride to the University with traffic. Lots of restaurants and a free shuttle within 3 miles. 14 dollars to park the car and we always found parking available (although we do have handicapped so I don't know about regular parking spaces). As people have noted, there is a train that is loud and it did wake me up about 3 times during the night but I was able to go right back to sleep. Another reason we were so surprised about this hotel is because we had a rough start with reservations. When I called 2 months after my husband called with a credit card number on the phone, we noticed they did not e-mail us a confirmation so when we called the hotel, they said we cancelled the reservation. We were very skeptical because of this initial issue but it all worked out well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my3jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 72 in Pittsburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $109 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing