We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Penguins Games!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here for a Penguins playoff game. Even though they lost big time the hotel was a great value and located minutes from the energy center. You do have to pay to park though. The room was great and had an awesome view of the city at night. The bar/restaraunt located next to it was really good! Spacious room and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaming_gnome05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 473 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel is located on Pittsburgh's south side. Once you figure out how to get there you'll be set. Free shuttle downtown with drop off near PNC park. Lot's of bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. Pramanti's is 10 blocks. Most bars allow smoking. Heard the train one time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirt2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I like Holiday Inn chain of hotels - as always comfy, clean, great view from the window. As much as you like to see river. trees, i guess I never "saw or heard" train passing by and honking every morning like crazy :) Nice pool/ fitness
Not bad area for restaurants (to me it was trashy looking area, but it's a steal city - tough). Some malls are not too far and other attractions.

I'd stay there again...:)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sono1helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I had booked the hotel for 4 adults.They only had a king room and could not get a 2 queen room.They only had the 2 queen in the smoking section which i declined. Other then that the hotel is fine. The fron desk was good and breakfas was decent. Liked the shuttle service they provide.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We booked this room many months in advance for the Taylor Swift Concert. Arriving an hour early we thought we would have plenty of time to check in and get to Heinz Field. We were wrong! They first put 5 of us in a "Honeymoon Suite" - which obviously would not work. After we took all of our stuff back to the lobby to fix the mess up they put us in smoking and NONE OF US SMOKE! Finally we leave the hotel at 8pm after all of the mess ups and miss all the opening acts! Once we get back to the hotel we got to park in the parking lot (which we paid $20 for) and there AREN't ANY SPACES!!! The icing on the cake was waking up to the hotel not having any coffee for breakfast. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in and the customer service was horrible. Better off sleeping in a gutter!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_rishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel is what it is.... a nice HI Express with a fantastic location. If you are 50 years old or more you will think the location is questionable, but if you are 30 years or younger you will absolutely love this place. Carson Street is the biggest party area I have ever been to and it's right outside your door. Rooms are nice but pricey so try Priceline or Hotwire and don't complain

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbirch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Spent a most enjoyable week-end at the South side HolidayInn. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Yes, there are train tracks right next door, but the sound of a once nightly freight train horn and click clack of a freight train is not a bad sound. The location is great. The small bar is now open next door and is a great place for a nightcap after a busy day. outside seating..looking over traffic and the bridge. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The free shuttle to local venues can't be beat. Excellent drivers.
Just one block from the Three Rivers Trail, a nice riverside blacktop trail for biking or walking which leads to Station Square, the Incline or the neightborhoods. Great for a early morning jog. Carson Street with restaurants, bars and small shops is 2 blocks away..it is an OK place if you're under 30.
overall, this is a recommended hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $136 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing