We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

They explained everything at check-in, kept my luggage for me after checkout time, and had a nice lobby, a functioning workout room and a good breakfast. There was a small store with food in the lobby, which was helpful for dinner. The neighborhood seemed nice. I can't find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
SuperPicnicWoman,
Thank you for your review. We're glad to have had you as our guest, and we're delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and took the time to let us know. I will make sure to share this with our team to see the impact all their hard work and dedication has on the guest experience! I hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Alex Starr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    100
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
89
35
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and accommodation staff on repeated visits here. I wish the restaurant was open earlier than 6:30a but the beds are comfortable and the location is ideal for me, being right next to Shadyside Hospital

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Curt G,
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad to be your choice hotel while visiting Pittsburgh. I'm pleased to know you enjoy our friendly staff as well as our comfortable beds and convenient location. We hope you will continue to visit us, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Az
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would recommend this hotel just for the location near CMU.

Otherwise its another nice but nondescript Marriott. Service was good, rooms were good.

The manager was nice an moved us from the top floor (which we requested) to a lower floor, as the HVAC system on the roof made the ceiling in our room vibrate. This annoyed my wife, which is a bad thing.

However, there is a Starbucks attached to the hotel for you coffee drinkers!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, as the HVAC system makes the ceiling vibrate in some of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
AZSage,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We're pleased to have you and your wife as our guests, and glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad we were able to move you to a different room as we always aim to please. We're grateful for your recommendation to other viewers and hope we will see you again for another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester county
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nothing terrible. Nothing great. Valet parking is a pain because about half the time there's no valet around. It was never explained by the guy having been out fetching a car because they would always appear from inside the hotel. This wasn't at a weird hour and happened four times in two days. This also results in big jams at the tiny pick up spot which can't fit many cars.

Restaurant is understaffed at breakfast. One waitress is not enough to run the whole place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockessin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
hockessin1,
Thank you for your review. We value your business, and we're glad to have had you as our guest. I apologize for gaps in Valet availability. We will ensure we evaluate the needs and busy rush hour times to maximize coverage for guests like yourself in the future. Thank you again for your patronage and valuable feedback! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I often choose Courtyard by Marriott because of its reputation for value and consistency and I've never been disappointed. This hotel, though independently owned and operated by an independent regional group, exceeded my expectations. The staff were exceptionally helpful to the level that I usually receive at category 5 Marriott hotels such as J.W. and Ritz Carlton. The free shuttle service was an added bonus and greatly appreciated since taxi cabs were scarce and unreliable in this particular area. I would definitely choose this location again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
jasonbulger,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're delighted to have had you stay as our guest, and pleased you enjoyed your visit. It's great to hear that we exceeded your expections! I appreciate you holding our staff in such high regard, and I'll make sure to share your comments with them. We welcome you to come and visit us again for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

While visiting a friend at Carnegie Mellon U., we stayed for the night at this property.

Things did not start out well. After a long drive, we were ready for a rest. However, the air conditioner in our first room was noisy, emitting random trills and vibrations every few minutes. It sounded worn out--about like my wife and I were feeling at that point. Concluding that rest was impossible while in the same room as this machine, we re-packed our belongings and headed to the front desk.

The gentleman with whom we spoke at Reception displayed exactly the attitude a stressed travel would hope for. He informed us that the hotel was in the process of replacing all of the air conditioning units, apologized for the inconvenience and moved us to an available room on a different--which happened to be a suite. He did these things not in a begrudging way, but with a genuine desire to please. The new room was not only more spacious, but perfectly quiet. It's a pleasure to acknowledge the excellent service from the front desk.

In the morning, we passed up breakfast at the hotel dining room in favor of some tasty treats at the adjoining Starbucks. We enjoyed complimentary coffee in the hotel's modern and comfortable lobby lounge.

For those intending to visit CMU or Pitt, we found the location of this property to be very convenient. Be aware, however, that on-site parking is valet only and rather costly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
John S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm very glad to hear that our Associate was able to accomodate you well and show you our genuine hospitality. I'm also glad to hear that we're located in a convenient area for you to visit your friend and enjoy the other activities surrounding us. We welcome you and your wife to stay with us again for another exceptional visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec City - Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spend a few nights (Sept.19-23), and all I can say is that the staff is extremenly helpful, cordial. I think they must have a smile ''glued'' to their face.
Rooms are clean, and many of them have balconies; so for anyone who has problem with closed windows and AC running, this is good.
Indoor pool is nice and clean; but I would suggest that the lighting be dimmed a bit.
Had breakfast one morning at for the low price of $10, you can have all you want.
This hotel is not in the downtown area; but not too far (15$ approx taxi ride). Public transport close by
Great Stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irinaki2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
irinaki2001,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Shadyside. We're very pleased to hear you had an excellent visit with us and found our staff to be friendly. We're happy to have had you as our guest and hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Oakland
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Address: 5308 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-2356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy breakfast or a full dinner in The Bistro Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/Day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing