We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large, modern rooms”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very nice size double rooms with queen-sized beds. Modern amenities, small refrigerator in room. Hotel has a Starbuck's just behind the lobby or eleven dollar buffet breakfast across the lobby. The shades on the windows did an excellent job at blocking out the sunlight and the beds were very comfortable. Negatives: no safes in rooms. There was only one computer for use in the lobby area. The AC unit rattled alot between shut off & start up, so we kept it cooler the second night so it wouldn't shut off as much. Also, no self-parking at the hotel--- valet parking only for a $18 daily fee. During peak times, there could be a wait to get your car as there was usually just one valet for sometimes up to six cars. The valets & staff were very nice though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastebud80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    103
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
38
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The room was clean and good. The hotel restaurant was is limited and small, but they managed provide nice hot simple food. Overnight stay was good. The room had no wireless reception had to come down to the lobby to get emails. Little bit overpiced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTVisitor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The quality of the rooms was very good. Breakfast buffet had something for everyone in our party. The best part was the staff: friendly, professional, and very helpful. They readily printed out map directions to our wedding destination and to the Carnegie Museum. They also recommended a great Thai restaurant "Smiling Banana Leaf". Location was convenient for shopping, museums, and lots of attractions.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms we had were both very clean & quiet. Quite the feat considering the hotel is across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyAnn88, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Rickfinn,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our team was friendly and helpful. Thanks for your recommendation and taking the time to share your thoughts.

Truly yours,
Chuck Heinlein, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I visited Pittsburgh this past weekend for the Grand Prix Car race with my Father and Brother. We arrived at the hotel early around 11am and asked the Front Desk Attendant about the possibility of an early check. The attendant was not only rude, but was extremely unaccomadating. Finally after the race we check-in to find our room possessed mold on the shower curtain, had a musky smell throughout, along with a large tear on the chair furniture. As a current Marriott Intern, for the price we paid for the one night we stayed, along with the rediculously overpriced $17 valet parking per day, this property does not live up to the Courtyard brand standard. I highly reccomend looking into the Residence Inn nearby. I'll be sure to stay elseswhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebertzav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear ebertzav,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid review of our hotel. Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously, and that I am addressing each of your concerns with the entire team in order to improve upon all of the above. I hope you will accept my deepest apologies for each of the negatives you and your family experienced during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at (412) 683-3113 to discuss in greater detail.

Yours truly,

Chuck Heinlein, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is in a great location but the room was not very clean. There were greasy hand print smudges all over the furniture and it wasn't cleaned during our stay. The air conditioner was extremely loud. The sofa in our room was old and the metal from the pull out bed stuck out from the cushions. This hotel needs updating!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PairofTravelers2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I always like Marriott properties. This one fits. Room was very big and close to CMU, where we were visiting our son. They have a discounted rate if you ask.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thanks Philip for taking the time to share your comments; we’re glad to know the CMU rate was available for your stay and we hope you had a great visit with your son! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Chuck Heinlein, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Excellent staff, excellent service. Hotel staff even mailed us my wife's forgotten sweater. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quality_Evaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thanks very much for the five star review Quality_Evaluator! We appreciate you choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your comments. We’re glad we were able to assist with your wife’s sweater and hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Pittsburgh.

Best wishes,

Chuck Heinlein, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Address: 5308 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-2356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy breakfast or a full dinner in The Bistro Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/Day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing