We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Aviary

National Aviary
Ranked #13 of 157 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazing collection of more than 600 exotic and endangered birds from nearly every continent.
Moundsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife were in Pittsburgh for a weekend getaway and chose the National Aviary as an afternoon excursion. It was so much more than a "bird zoo" we were expecting! The Aviary is sectioned off into habitats like the Rainforest, the Grasslands, the Wetlands, etc, with an INCREDIBLE variety of birds to see. The coolest part is, most of the birds in these habitats are in OPEN AIR, so they fly around you as you walk through. If you're thinking about visiting the Aviary, definitely stop by to see the feeding times to get up close with some different animals. I would also recommend paying the extra $5 to see one of the performance shows and hold a bird on your arm!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    297
    79
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Do some research and time your visit for their activities like talks and feedings. $5 for parking at the front door, very reasonable, small but nice gift shop. A Parrot that said hello and goodbye was a neat experience. Interactive area where the birds fly freely!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFOX101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome place ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. I am a young adult and I think it's the coolest place ever. I go at least 2x a year. Be sure to pay the extra money (under $5 per person) to feed the lorikeets. So much fun and so worth it. Exhibits haven't changed that much in the past 3 years which is why I gave it 4 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Nicoletravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fascinating bird immersion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Up close and personal with a huge collection of birds.
A number of rooms allow for the birds to fly at will

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank napoli96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not That Exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sorry, but it's just not that exciting. The place is pretty small and I think the cost of admission is over-priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aviary also viewed

 

Been to National Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing