We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting”
Review of National Aviary

National Aviary
Ranked #14 of 178 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazing collection of more than 600 exotic and endangered birds from nearly every continent.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visiting”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of the best kept secrets of Pittsburgh. I loved walking into the larger room and a bird flew over our heads. Unbelievable! I had so much fun with my daughter's! Please visit!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lorie1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    326
    84
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This only has 6 exhibits. While they are well done, there are few birds here. It took 20 minutes to see everything. This was very overpriced for what you get. It would be great if it was less than $5 per person.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank emdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The aviary is amazing!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this aviary twice in the past year, and both timea, I found it to be amazing. The staff is very friendly and well educated on the birds they have. The bird shows are well worth the money. I had a vultures wing slap my face midflighy during one! I highly reccomend visiting the aviary with everyone you know.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank amberkrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birds, birds, birds”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great place to walk around. The staff are really informative and friendly.The shows with the birds are awesome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Twofatladiespghpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful aviary.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The aviary has been updating and suffers when under construction, but the newer habitats are lovely.

Go early and time up the feedings, they have the schedule at the front desk. The feedings really are the best as the birds come out of hiding and fly all over, and you can feed them yourself.

Otherwise you run the risk of going through habitats that look empty as the birds sit hidden in the trees. The wetlands feeding is always a great time, and the penguin habitat is awesome.

We got the joint membership with the children's museum when my daughter turned three, and we will keep getting it, both places are lovely and we end up going to one or the other a lot over the summer. It isn't cheap for tickets, and if you go at the wrong time you'll barely see anything, so be smart.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aviary also viewed

 

Been to National Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing