We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Must See!!”

Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium
Ranked #21 of 172 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a family experience that fosters understanding, respect, and appreciation of wildlife with a visit to the Pittsburgh Zoo. Take a trip to the Islands and get an eye to eye view of warty pigs, Philippine crocodiles, and clouded leopards. Venture into the Jungle for an Odyssey of fun where you’ll discover our giant anteater, the elusive fossa, the world’s largest rat, and the pygmy hippo. Take in the scenic bird’s-eye view of the African Savanna before heading to our aquarium and Water’s Edge, home of the impressive polar bear and playful sea otter. *Jungle Odyssey and Zoo zip line open Summer 2017.* There is so much to explore at the Zoo, we provide 77 acres of fun! The Pittsburgh Zoo is open every day of the year except Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day. Prices vary per season, so visit our website: and follow us on Facebook,and Twitter.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definite Must See!!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Weather was decent...went the day after Thanksgiving. Food was good and affordable. The polar bears were a nice treat... Lots of animals were out because they have heated rocks for the lions and cheetahs and such. Rentals of scooters were not available and several shops were closed, but a rather large aquarium was a nice bonus - 2 for 1 ticket

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFOX101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    477
    182
    55
    23
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not for the weak”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The animals still on view at this time of year were very special and well tended---but the zoo is very hilly with no benches or resting places for anyone not in prime shape or above a certain age. Pity, because it might have been a good experience. Also a fairly expensive outing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank archiebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I think it is a nice zoo and they really try to keep current. But they seem to have problems with their aquariums. Often empty with signs that new animals are on there way. Overall it is a great experience if you haven't been there before but it gets old after a while.

Helpful?
Thank Tara4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Pittsburgh Must See”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visit the zoo at least once a year. Every time we go, it is always a great time. Parking is free and the zoo rates are within reason. We purchased a zoo pass which was very reasonable for a family of four and paid for itself in two visits. The zoo grounds are well maintained and it has a nice variety of animals. We love the polar bear exhibit, monkey house, aquarium, tiger exhibit and children's zoo. Many updates have been done in the last few years. Make sure to wear your walking shoes. Several hills to climb but nothing extreme. When you reach the middle of the zoo, there is a very nice eating area that has indoor dining along with outdoor seating. There are many food stands to choose from. Two of my favorites are the hand cut french fries and believe it or not but the hamburgers. You can get them in the indoor dining area. What is so good about them is that there is a toppings bar that just makes them even better than they are already! In the children's zoo, stop and take a rest while the children run and climb at the playground. You can sit and watch them have fun. There is one way in and one way out so it is easy to keep an eye on your little ones. I have been going to the Pittsburgh Zoo since I was a very small child. They have made so many changes over the years and the zoo just keeps getting better and better. I still have fond memories of the zoo and love taking my children there also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lunchlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo to visit”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We end up going to the Pittsburgh Zoo usually twice a year at least. I like that parking is free and that the prices haven't gotten extremely ridiculous. The aquarium is one of our favorite areas of the entire zoo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 921heathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing