We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh Weekend”

Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium
Ranked #21 of 176 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a family experience that fosters understanding, respect, and appreciation of wildlife with a visit to the Pittsburgh Zoo. Take a trip to the Islands and get an eye to eye view of warty pigs, Philippine crocodiles, and clouded leopards. Venture into the Jungle for an Odyssey of fun where you’ll discover our giant anteater, the elusive fossa, the world’s largest rat, and the pygmy hippo. Take in the scenic bird’s-eye view of the African Savanna before heading to our aquarium and Water’s Edge, home of the impressive polar bear and playful sea otter. *Jungle Odyssey and Zoo zip line open Summer 2017.* There is so much to explore at the Zoo, we provide 77 acres of fun! The Pittsburgh Zoo is open every day of the year except Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day. Prices vary per season, so visit our website: and follow us on Facebook,and Twitter.
Hurricane, West Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pittsburgh Weekend”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great Zoo for all ages! Very well maintained - clean:) So many things for the little ones to do and interact with the animals. I loved the Aquarium!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaLB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    491
    193
    57
    23
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the Best Zoos!!!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are from the DC area, and always go to the National Zoo, but the Pittsburgh Zoo puts the National Zoo (except for the National Zoo's new elephant accommodations which are the best I have seen anywhere), and many others, to shame. They have so many animals on display and the facilities seem to be some of the best. We loved our day at the zoo, and love that the aquarium is a part of it and included in the price of admission. And speaking of admission, kudos to the Pittsburgh Zoo for their policy of free admission to military veterans. I respect and appreciate it very much. Our party included a retired Marine and a Navy Vet. You must provide proof, such as a retiree ID card or a DD214, but it was a simple and easy admission process. The zoo offers plenty of shade if you visit on a hot day, with beautiful wandering paths through the exhibits. And don't forget to visit the polar bear, he is quite the clown!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMJST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zoo”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Love the Polar Bears. The monkeys are always awesome and so active. Don't forget to go to Summer Safari!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nickye2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The zoo was nice and clean. Although the train wasn't running even though it was a holiday weekend...I'm glad we got there early because when we left they weren't letting patrons in until people left I guess they were at capacity. All in all a good day. My toddler loved the log ride and the petting zoo, and the play area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visiting”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have always had a great time at the Pittsburgh Zoo! Animals have lots of room to walk around and seem relatively happy.
Great food and people. Visit!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lorie1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing