We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all live in a yellow submarine!!”

Carnegie Science Center
Ranked #16 of 178 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We all live in a yellow submarine!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went on the side attraction at Carnegie Science Center which is a giant submarine. It was above ground and was a little snug inside. Each room was small but had a fully functional living quarters for captain and crew. It had a live torpedo ready to launch too. Exciting adventure for all!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinky1242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    300
    89
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun for adults and children”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The displays change from time to time, this is a wonderful place to spend an entire day. There are many activities for children from toddler to young adult, but even us older adults will the science here fascinating. Admission prices are average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved the Robots and the bikes--- we when to see the submarine but it is little tight. Lots of kids but that is what makes it great for the family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TamiSue44614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford NJ
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice science museum”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a first rate science museum, but it is ideally designed for kids. I will say, however, that there is a room with a model railroad that is phenomenal. There are famous historical buildings throughout the exhibit that are accurate and to scale (Forbes Field, Fallingwater, Mr. Rogers house, Noah's Ark from Kennywood Park, etc.) That was worth the price of admission. They also have a submarine and you can walk thru which was also very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dadmac329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to visit”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Kids & adults will love this place. We started by visiting the submarine which was very interesting. The kids area in the museum kept the kids (3,5,7) busy and we loved the cooking demonstration. We then moved to the next building where the kids really loved the "human yoyo." We could easily have spent more time here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mainenanax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing