We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to go on a visit to Steeler country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnegie Science Center

Carnegie Science Center
Ranked #17 of 157 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to go on a visit to Steeler country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Heinz Field stadium is right next door on one side and the casino is on the other side, so lots to see and do here. We visited here the day before the game and really enjoyed it. The displays were very entertaining and informative. The new planetarium show (Infinity Express) was okay, but a little too "artsy-fartsy" instead of informative. Enjoyed the Imax show (Born to be Wild)

There were a few displays not working well, but I've found that to be common at these 'hands-on' museums when you have thousands of adults and kids messing with stuff every single day! lol. We didn't have time to explore the submarine (which is part of the ticket). We only had a few hours...wish we had an extra hour or two to do and see everything.

oh....hubby wants people to know he DID beat the computer at air hockey! lol.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank teechur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    281
    84
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, MD
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Grandparents, Parents and Kids, We All Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had the BEST day here this past Saturday. From the quick and easy process of getting our tickets (Thank you Latavia for your courtesy, efficiency and friendliness!) for the Center and for the Halloween Laser Show in the Planetarium, to our visit's conclusion at the Sportsworks, it was spectacular. The only problem was figuring out what to do as there is so much to see and do. Loved the model train set up, it takes up a huge room, and the detail is amazing. Floor after floor of interactive science activities and games that people of ALL ages were enjoying. A presentation called "Fruit Flambe" where the presenters, full of humor, were explaining and showing the science behind making a fruit flambe (with fire of course!), and then treating all after to their hot apple caramel concoction over ice cream. The Halloween laser show was superb, beautiful laser display to many favorite Spooky songs that all will recognize, including "Thriller"; "Ghost Busters"; "Monster Mash" and my favorite "Time Warp" from the Rocky Horror Picture Show. Though we did not eat there, there is a cafeteria to plan your lunch or dinner. There is a rather nice gift shop as well, with the typical T-Shirts and "stuff". Can't go wrong with a day visit here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LMJST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always a good time at the Science Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed a fun-filled visit at the Carnegie Science Center with out-of-town guests. They really wanted to see the submarine and we all found it both fascinating and educational. The current exhibit of medical/surgical processes and tools was great and interactive fun, even for us adults. The best part was the miniature train display. Not only is the display simply wonderful in its intricacy and accuracy, but the volunteers who work there are passionate artists of this miniature world and they're delighted to share what they do. We even got an impromptu behind-the-scenes tour of where they build the miniatures and how they do it! We also loved the robotics exhibit and cheered on the basketball-shooting robot that congratulated itself and bowed after taking each shot. Definitely a must-do stop in Pittsburgh!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pittsburghproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopewell pal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kids loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

the kids have a blast here talk about it for days wanting to go again and again. they learn a lot and enjoy the experience

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome sports exhibits! Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wow! Our three kids ages 2, 6, 8, could have stated all day! We started at Sportsworks and stayed 90 minutes there before heading to the main science center. We lucked out with nearly no other visitors this time of year--mid week in september.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing