We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kids loved it”

Carnegie Science Center
Ranked #17 of 176 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
hopewell pal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kids loved it”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the kids have a blast here talk about it for days wanting to go again and again. they learn a lot and enjoy the experience

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    295
    87
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, oh
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome sports exhibits! Fun for all ages!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wow! Our three kids ages 2, 6, 8, could have stated all day! We started at Sportsworks and stayed 90 minutes there before heading to the main science center. We lucked out with nearly no other visitors this time of year--mid week in september.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A few extra touches”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have been to alot of Science Centers using our reciprocal pass from our Columbus science center (COSI). Carnegie Science center had alot of displays we had seen before at other centers but there were a few more unique items. The submarine parked on the river out back was included in price and you could actually touch the dials, lay in a bunk, etc. which many other place would never let you "touch". The travelling guitar display was interesting and the robot area was a highlight. You can play air hockey, shoot a basket or play foosball against a robot! There is a terrific train display as well. Look closely.....some of the people in the tiny village displays are moving!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ttoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop with children”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a great facility, loved by adults & children alike. Nearby sports center and submarine tours are also fun. Easy to spend a weekend among the three, along with some Pittsburgh food, & maybe the Aviary & children's museum.

Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh Pa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Less crowded during the week”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went during the week to see the Guitar exhibit but visited other areas also during the week and it was not crowded at all.
I liked the new railroad exhibit also. Parking is on site. It was pricey so if you go be sure to make a day of it and see everything.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing