We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exact Change Required for your Fare”

Monongahela Incline
Ranked #19 of 166 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tram, opened in 1870, still carries passengers up and down Mount Washington.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exact Change Required for your Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This incline, the Monongahela Incline, requires exact change for your fare. (The other incline, the Duquesne Incline does not.) There is a change machine in the Mon incline office, but don't depend on it being in service. Check the Mon inclne website prior to your visit for the current fare, and bring that exact amount for each person in your party.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    328
    65
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PHILLY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My son wanted to ride the incline. It was a nice cute ride - with history. We walked around the top then rode back down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HURRICANEPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Awesome Pittsburgh experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We took the incline up to Mt. Washington to grab some dinner, but knew ahead of the time that half the fun is getting there as we did this the last time we were in the city. An absolute incredible feat of engineering considering when it was made and how long it has been in use. The people working at the station were incredibly friendly. Loved looking at the picture up top of the timeline and construction of the incline.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMcMenamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice view.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

One of those typical tourist must-do's while you are in Pittsburgh. I prefer the Monongahela Incline during the day because of the Station Square shopping area at the bottom and the Mt. Washington overlook at the top. There are a couple of pub style restaurants and an ice cream shop and bakery in the Mt. Washington neighborhood to walk to also. Great skyline views at the top. Just make sure to bring exact change for the ride, $3.50 for a round trip ticket per person as of 7/4/14.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank senorcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although we are from Allegheny County my husband said he had never been on the incline. So we went and it was as enjoyable as I remembered as a kid. Do it if you had not recently or take someone who has not.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monongahela Incline also viewed

 

Been to Monongahela Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing