We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, historic & kid friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monongahela Incline

Monongahela Incline
Ranked #19 of 157 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tram, opened in 1870, still carries passengers up and down Mount Washington.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool, historic & kid friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you happen to be in Pittsburgh, I would highly recommend a quick trip on either of the two inclines. This was one of the ways the steel workers & others would commute to work from Mt. Washington (a great place to view the beautiful panorama of the city) from the early industrial age till now. It's very affordable, the ride itself takes less than 15 mins. & kids typically enjoy it (the steep incline is quite unique). When I tell people in other parts of the US who have visited Pittsburgh in the past that I'm from Pittsburgh, one of the 1st questions they ask is "Is the incline still running?". It's a true local icon & relic from the past.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elkojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    322
    62
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The trips up and down are inexpensive and provide a heck of a great view of the city. Don't miss out on doing this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
583 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Nice view of city, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The funicular itself not a good vehicle from which to see the city, but the views from the top of Mt. Washington were stunning. Seniors are free, and adults are $3.50 round trip. We also had to pay to park, so it was not really worth it. However, the parking garage we used was near a shopping area, and we wandered around in there for a bit. The kids will love it, and the walk along the river to see the best views is enjoyable. We actually were looking for the Dusquesne Incline, but went to this one by accident. We were glad we did since we passed the Dusquesne later, and the Monongahela was higher with better views.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing ride with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were spending time at Station Square and saw that the incline was right there. We had been told the Duquesne Incline was better but we opted for the convenience of no further driving. We were not disappointed and think we made the right choice. A short walk to the bottom from Station Square and then a ride to the top. You pay at the top. They want exact change but have change machines readily available. It was $3.50 round trip per person (not quite old enough yet for the free seniors ride). Once at the top there are great views of Pittsburgh and the rivers. You can walk along the bluff to different overlooks to vary the views. All four of us really enjoyed it as an add-on to our Station Square visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
528 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A Great View from the Top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are a senior citizen, you get to take this historic ride free. I am told that there were numerous "inclines" back in the day due to all of the hills surrounding Pittsburgh. There are now only two left. You get a great photo op from the tram if you stay on the lower level of this two-level train. Additionally, there is a somewhat scary outlook with a great view of Pittsburgh. Scary because it juts out from the mountain on a very thin pedestal! You can explore on top of the mountain a variety of shops and restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monongahela Incline also viewed

 

Been to Monongahela Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing