We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Children's Museum of Pittsburgh
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Visit

Took my 13 and 10 years old boys and 3 years old girl and 3 month baby to visit, while we were... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Larissa921
,
Needham, Massachusetts
via mobile
Traveled with a 3 and 6 year old - both had a great time!

Loved the learning aspects in the art and makershop areas - we could have spent the entire day from... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BTMD15
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Read all 551 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pittsburgh
from $75.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $22.99
More Info
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
350
130
45
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
130
45
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews change of clothes water play water area art room bathing suits older kids gravity room all ages water shoes swim suit mo willems daniel tiger's neighborhood hands on activities third floor great place for kids big hit kids will love
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Took my 13 and 10 years old boys and 3 years old girl and 3 month baby to visit, while we were traveling to this city. Museum is great. Parking was convenient, we were there a little bit early, but they let us wait inside. A lot of different stuff to try, big cafe, great splashing room, but we couldn’t use it, didn’t have bathing suits. One of the nicest kids museums.

Thank Larissa921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review! We love to see a family with such diverse ages enjoying the Museum. Please make a note that we're opening an adjacent building with exhibits and art for youth 10+ in April 2019. You can learn more at museumlab.org.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the learning aspects in the art and makershop areas - we could have spent the entire day from open to close

Thank BTMD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're glad you and your family learned and had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Great museum for children. Very hands on,Admission is free for ASTC passport reciprocity, 50% admission for ACM reciprocity,, and $1 off for AAA members.
We went on a Friday during summer and the place was very busy with summer campers. Unfortunately, the older kids were very aggressive and leaders did not direct kids to share with the other non-camper kids. The younger kids were intimidated by the older kids. The Thomas Train exhibit was great, especially for the younger kids. The water play in the upper floor is another kids favourite. Make sure that the children and parents bring their swimming suits, as they can get very wet.

During summer, most likely, early morning on the weekends will be more enjoyable than weekdays without the campers.

Thank ephesians5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Have gone half a dozen times with small children, teenagers and just me and my fiance. Had great times every time i've been there. Think it is a little over priced but if you get there before it gets to crowd, it is okay. Laser show was really good last time i was there.

Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for your review! However, feel like we should come clean that we don't have a laser show and maybe you're thinking about the Carnegie Science Center?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

So much to do and see. My daughters had an incredibly time playing with clay, making creations in the makerspace area, and exploring the rest of the museum. We only had 2 hours to spend, which was enough time to see everything, but they could have spent the whole day here and not run out of things to do. Be sure to ask for the military discount if you qualify, our tickets went from $74 for 3 adults and 2 kids, to only $20. Also, I loved that they had small dryers up in the waterworks area... Genius!!

Thank KBVB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you were able to take advantage of the military discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

I was a little weary at first at the price to get in but at the end it was worth every penny. We went back for another trip. All the staff was very nice and helpful They kept the place very clean. The custodial staff were walking around tidying up Non-Stop. All the parts and pieces were at each exhibit for the children to play with. The only suggestion for the place is to have more benches for parents to sit out of the way so the kids can play in the exhibits edith crowd.

Thank icewoman625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for your review, and especially for calling out the efforts of our hardworking museum educators and facilities staff. We will pass along your comment about seating to our exhibits staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Although not huge, there truly was a lot to do. We spent 4 hours here with a 2 year old and 8 month old. Everything is hands on, which was great. The Mo Willams exhibit was my daughters favorite. Bring a swimsuit! The water play area is amazing, but I limited our time there since even with the smocks they provided my kids were getting soaked. If we were local I wouldn't even hesitate to buy a membership to this museum!

Thank alexmc622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

I got a 4yo and a 2yo boys and we had a couple of hours to spend and that was a very good option since children have lots of different choices to play and learn. Very rich and easy access.

Thank RFerreira1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for your review! We hope you'll bring your boys back to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The children we took had a wonderful time. It was fantastic! The adults enjoyed it also. Lots to do and plenty of fun! Don't miss this one

Thank usuallytakeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We came here for a family picnic for my moms work. Finding a parking spot was a hassle but we eventually found a spot. Upon entering we had found a desk to sign in at if you were there for he picnic. Once we signed in we went to look around. We started off looking at the garage, where they had a real smart car! They also had a slide and some kids play stuff. This was the time when Thomas and friends was in the museum so they had a little ticket desk, and a train and a lot of fun stuff. After that we went to go check out “the pigeon comes to Pittsburgh” exhibit. It had a lot of fun Mo Williams pigeon stuff. After that we went up to the third floor to look at the waterworks, but I did not want to do that because I didn’t want to get wet. After that we went to go check out the woodworking which was VERY fun. After that we just hung out for a little. After that we left.

DEFINITELY an amazing place to take your kids if you are in Pittsburgh.

Thank Andrewwwwwwww_sssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for your review! We're glad you had a fun visit and hope you'll visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews