We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Dinner”

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McMasters Way
Benwood
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mother's Day Dinner”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I must write to tell you the food was excellant. The decor very nice and relaxing. We had to wait extra long to ask ther waiter to bring boxs for left overs. I did not think he was ever going to ask if we would like anything else. A nice gentleman that was clearing up got us more water and brought a desert menu to us. And then we waited and waited on the waiter to take our order for the desert and bring coffee. We decide to have more coffe and had to wait again! just to get more cream. Then wen I was home in WV I warmed up my left overs and was enjoying it when I found a piece of fine steel curles up in it. It looked like a piece of scrubbing material. Will we return t\in the future probably not. My daughter was treating me for Mother's Day and I will not hesitate to tell her I do not wish to eat in your restraunt again - due mostly to the bad sedrvice. However, my compliments to the chef.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    76
    40
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Excellent Group Lunch Experience!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Thirteen members of our office staff had a wonderful lunch at Vallozzi's on Fifth Avenue! No one was disappointed with their food. I had the parma salad, which was fresh, light and not a bitter green in the bowl! Bread was fresh and tasty. The most delicious gnocchi carbonara was next! Filling and flavorful, even with the fried egg on top (which I admit, I was skeptical about, but it was delicious!) Follow this up with what had to be the best bread pudding with caramel sauce I've ever had! Great experience with great service! Will return for lunch again (just maybe not during the work day, as it has been a struggle to stay awake with such a full tummy!!) Just delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeyLimeLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Finally, a 'fine' dining experience in Pittsburgh.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Vallozzi's was a true fine dining experience. If this is the direction that dining is taking in Pittsburgh then I say "it's about time". From the Mozzarella Bar to beverages, menu to staff, my experience was exceptional. If you are bored with the status quo of most, not all Pittsburgh restaurants, then treat yourself to an evening at this exciting eatery. I will certainly be singing the praises of Vallozzi's in downtown Pittsburgh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location...food was PERFECT! The Chilean Sea Bass with Butternut Squash Risotto was absolutely wonderful. We had a party of 10 people and each one had something different. EVERYTHING was delicious. The homemade Buffalo Mozzarella Bar is perfection. We loved everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmgckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get the Bread Pudding!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

All I can say is FABULOUS! The service was great and the food was to "die to for". The seafood risotto was amazing. Large portions of scallops, shrimp and lobster. Make sure you save room for dessert because the Bread Pudding was the best ever. Great dining experience. Highly recommend! If you are heading to Pittsburgh, make sure you get reservations at Vallozzi's Pittsburgh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing