We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful park by the Point”
Review of Point State Park

Point State Park
Ranked #13 of 172 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving as a key strategic spot during the French and Indian War, this National Historic Landmark and park offer stunning views of the city and a variety of outdoor recreation.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A beautiful park by the Point”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Point State Park is a very nice park along the river at the Point. This is where the Regatta is held, in addition to concerts and other Pittsburgh events. There is a hotel located right near the Point (Wyndham). Very fun place to visit and a good place to walk during your lunch hour if you work downtown.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    179
    29
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
229 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Scenic point at the junction of three rivers. Good views of boats, rafts, barges, Washington Heights, sorts stadiums, etc. Large water fountain and large area to relax and picnic in. Small museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank backpack1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“walkers paradise”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautiful city views and a must for the person that enjoys walking. My wife and i walked across the bridge to the incline trolley, it took 20 minutes and the view from the bridge was great. Definately a photographers park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pork1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely day or night”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a really neat place! Point State Park is more than just the fountain; there is some very well kept open green fields, tree lined walk ways, and lots of great space to stroll along the rivers. From there you can look across the rivers to see Heinz Field, PNC Park, the museum, the inclines on Mt. Washington, and other sites. We noticed not just tourists go there, Pittsburghers were having lunch, and taking a break from their day as well. We went both at night and during the day. Enjoyable, safe and comfortable both times. If you go to Pittsburgh, it's a must-see!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scrumdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio area
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice Park”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We didnt know what to expect so we wondered along the path that took us along the water and pretty landscape. The area was pretty and safe. We felt comfortable and relaxed and the water fountain was huge - there were young people up in the water standing on the ledge having a photo opportunity. They had a blast. No one tried to get them down, maybe it's okay to do. I loved being there with my husband, it was quite romantic near dusk with the lights dancing on the water. There was more to see as we headed back to the parking area. The Fort /museum was closed and the DAR museum was locked up too. No matter, it was still a great way to spend our time while visiting Pittsburgh.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMEFacilityCoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point State Park also viewed

 

Been to Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing