We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Tea House

Red Tea House
Ranked #816 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Waitstaff
pgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I order from The Red Tea House at least once a week. They have awesome sushi along with other great Chinese food. Take out food always ready on time and very friendly staff. I recommend this place. Very clean as well

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We are big Sesame Inn fans but given the holiday, decided to try Red Tea House. Needless to say, we will be returning to Sesame Inn. The food took an extensive amount of time to arrive at our table, was bland, and we had to ask several times for just water. We never saw our server after our food was delivered. Big disappointment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“General Tso's Wings are fiiiiire and fiiiire is GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had been given the tip to go and try Red Tea Houses General Tso's Wings. They are listed on the appetizer menu and so you may over look them... don't do it! They are deliciious !!
Picture lovely crispy wings, with general tso's sauce drizzled over them. Why this hasn't been added to every Chinese spot's menu is beyond me!!

We walked right in on a Saturday night around 830pm. There were maybe only 3 tables with people so I am fairly certain most of the business is take-out.

If you do order take out, they do put more sauce on top of the wings, but either way they are delicious.

We also shared an entree of Sesame chicken, it was good, more on the sweet side over normal spicy sweet. Different but good. The entree comes with white rice, but you can substitute Fried or brown for additional cost. Sharing the appetizer and entree was more than filling.

Service was good and staff was friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KIMtastic-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant - good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This restaurant reopened in my neighborhood under new management late last year and TripAdvisor is encouraging local restaurant reviews.
I've visited here a total of 3 times since opening and all times have been takeout only. They deliver within a certain radius and more information can be found on their website: http://www.redteahousepittsburgh.com/
They have traditional asian dishes and also a good selection of sushi. Everything I've had so far has been prepared well and has been delicious; from the won ton soup, to the sushi rolls, fried rice, and the kung pao chicken. The best part is the service and their team is very friendly. Service has been quick. I recommend if you're in the area to give them a try.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Red Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing