We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frick Art and Historical Center

Frick Art and Historical Center
Ranked #18 of 157 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgable. The preservation of the home was incredible. A very interesting tour. A group of friends took it together and we enjoyed it very much.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePieFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    102
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I Could Go Here Every Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a beautiful mansion that changes with the seasons. You have to visit at Christmas and see what a Victorian Christmas was like. But you also have to visit in the summer, and spring, and fall. Every time I've gone I've learned something new and seen something I hadn't seen before.

Helpful?
1 Thank MaritaGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I love the antic cars collection which are very old since 1800s and 1900s. First time seeing those in my life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank YeeHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We lived in Pittsburgh for a decade several years ago but never made this museum. On a recent visit we finally made it. It's small but ever so worth the visit. We did not tour the Frick home but am sure it would a good ting to do. We ate lunch in the cafe and that was especially nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zullsandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We recently visited only the free portions of this attraction: the art museum, the car museum, and the greenhouse. The art museum was lovely, albeit small, but I don't recommend it for small children. Only my oldest (7) was interested. Also, they have a scavenger hunt activity for school aged children, but the pamphlet they gave my kid was already filled out and they said they didn't have anymore. They were completely out of forms at the greenhouse as well, which was also very lovely, but, again, extremely small. Our 4 year old's favorite was definitely the car portion. There was an informational video and lots of very varied cars. Their fave was the little blue and red roadster, but it was very hard for the younger ones to understand why they couldn't touch anything. The grounds and buildings are all very beautiful, and this was a nice place to while away an hour. However, it was hard not to compare this to the Ford estate in Grosse Pointe, MI, which we went to quite recently, and this place definitely suffers in comparison. This is nice for school aged kids and up, but they would need to have an interest first and either way it's certainly not an all day type of attraction. If you're visiting from out of town, Pittsburgh has more impressive attractions than this, but if price is an issue (as it was for us) you certainly can't beat free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LexiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frick Art and Historical Center also viewed

 

Been to Frick Art and Historical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing