We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became much worse since they moved”
Review of The Green Mango

The Green Mango
Order Online
Ranked #283 of 2,513 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 27, 2018

Had lunch here today for the first time in about two years (used to go there every couple of months). Since I was here last, they had moved from their old space to the new location at the back of the same building.

The space they are in now is really bad: cramped and drafty. It is also tiny (maybe a tenth of the space they had before). It is not a room at all, but rather a narrow (about 5-6') and short angular corridor into which they jammed about 7 or 8 tables. The front door is right by the first couple of tables - cold winter air blasts right in.

The place used to be cozy and welcoming. Now it feels cheap. Fast-food cheap.

There was just a single waitress there and she was in bad mood and unfriendly. First unpleasant Thai person I ever met.

The food is OK. Not bad but not great. The hot tea used to be served brewed in a ceramic teapot, poured into ceramic cups. Now it comes as a tea bad in a paper cup, in line with the general cheap feeling of this place.

Definitely not recommended.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samodelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018

My husband & I enjoy the Green Mango, its a wonderful place for a 'date night.' Not only is the food excellent, the service is great and it is very peaceful so its perfect for conversation.
They do have a nice variety of choices & they are very reasonable. Also a lovely place for lunch! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Great food and very nice staff. Just moved to a new location in the same center. They are just about 50 feet to the right, tucked back in the courtyard across from the Subway. Plenty of outdoor seating. The food is always great. I love the chicken red curry and lemongrass soup with coconut milk. For the less adventurous, the fried rice is very good.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Best pad Thai around. Also wonderful spring rolls. Great chicken satay!! Can’t wait for the new location.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ilovenycAnnapolis_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018

We have been coming to the Green Mango for years. I've eaten outside once, but mostly come for a good pot of Ginger Tea, crisp egg rolls, and Pad Thai Chicken. Although the restaurant wasn't very big, there were quiet spots with booths seats on one side by the wall. The last time we tried to go, they were under renovation. We are looking forward to our next trip.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Moviestar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Mango also viewed

 

Been to The Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing