We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza

Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza
Ranked #121 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had the family size salad and it was very good. Also the meatballs and ricotta cheese were tasty. The pizza was very good as we had the white pizza.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    20
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hold onto your wallet & be ready to wait!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

No matter when you go to Anthony's in Cranberry Township, you are almost always going to wait. It is nice inside but a bit pricey for a pizza place. They have some unique beers as well and on Wednesday night's have a hump day special with martini's. It seems like it may be a good place for drinks as there were a lot of young people at the bar.
We had a small cheese pizza ($12.99 - 6 slices), a large sausage/half pepperoni, half mushroom pizza ($20.97 - 8 slices), 1 ice tea ($2.79), 1 beer ($5.00), a milk ($3.00), 1 apple juice ($3.00) for my kids and it was $56.66. Each pizza topping on a large is $3.00 for the first one and another $2.00 for each additional topping - even if you only put it on half. The pizza was good but I have had brick oven pizza other places that has been just as good if not better. With tough competition for pizza in Cranberry & Mars (Lucciano's) they need to fall in line with other places locally on pricing.
I did feel bad as the family that came in just behind us was still waiting for a table as we were getting our check.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennSVC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A differant Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a great time at Anthony's Settlers Ridge near Robinson Town Center Mall. The Four couples we were with were shopping at the Hobby Lobby , and were discussing where to go to for dinner. Another couple overheard us and suggested we go to Anthony's. Eager to try something new, we agreed. We started with drinks.... and they have an abundance, including some very good Craft Beers. We ordered 2 Family style salads , and this was more than enough for the 8 of us. We only got 20 Coal Oven Roasted wings ,but they were so delicious we ran out (should have also ordered another 10 piece . ) Next came the pizzas... one was a large traditional Pepperoni Pizza, which was excellent , but we also got the Paul and Young Ron Specialty . It was unbelievable !!! Meatballs, Sausage, Hot and Sweet Peppers , and Ricotta Cheese. An interesting thing is my wife and I were visiting our son in Florida and had lunch with him and his wife at Anthony's Orlando . Will be going back to both Anthony's soon !!! I would also like to give a shout out to the great waiter, waitress , and Bar staff at Anthony's !! GREAT JOB !!! We had dinner on Saturday March 8th at 7:30 P.M.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh area
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

A group of us from work had lunch here. The pizza's have a thin crispy crust (some people would consider it burnt). The toppings are all extra ranging in price from $1.50 to $2.50 per item depending on the size of the pizza. The cheese was almost non-existent, we joked that we didn't get anything or that it must be an "extra". The pizza did have a good taste. The tables are very close to each other and the noise level got to be annoying as the place filled up. I may go back someday but for now my money gets me a lot more at some other establishments.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steeler_Pens_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed the coal fired pizza. It reminded us of pizza in Italy. The crust was thin and crisp. The pizza was very fresh. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing