We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Meat & Potatoes

Meat & Potatoes
Ranked #16 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Street
Transit: Being a downtown Pittsburgh location, there are many options and we recommend going to the Port Authority website for schedules, rates and general information.
Description: Meat & Potatoes is a place with a warm, inviting pub atmosphere that serves sophisticated, yet unpretentious food. An extensive, and creative, cocktail, beer and wine list is an integral part of what we do at our wonderful establishment. Come visit a place where the locals dine!
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were only in Pittsburgh a few days, but we dined at this restaurant twice. Other restaurants were either the average Cisco type food or they were much more expensive. Here we found good quality food at a reasonable price along with great cocktails. We ordered the Mac 'N' Cheese as a side both times. The bar area is vibrant and the bartenders thrive on specialties. It is in the middle of the theatre district, which is convenient too. Get reservations or you MIGHT get a seat at the bar. Very busy even if the streets look deserted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsh326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    264
    103
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting menu & cool dining room”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We ate a late lunch & my boyfriend had the fried chicken, I had chicken paillard - both were outstanding. We shared the angels on horseback & that was amazing too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank moshee7872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paved the way for other hip downtown restaurants”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Located next to the O'Reilly theater and in between Heinz Hall and the Benedum, Meat and Potatoes is a great place to grab a drink or dinner before or after a downtown Pittsburgh event. It's modern and trendy but not overly pretentious, so you won't be out of place dressed up for Heinz Hall or in a Pirates jersey after a game. While kids are probably welcomed, the atmosphere is definitely more adult and special-occasion oriented. Though there is an outdoor patio during nice weather, the place is small, so reservations are essential unless you want to take your chances with bar seating (good luck). And make reservations as early as you can--this isn't a place where you can call the day before or a few hours ahead to secure a table. Nighttime ambiance is noisy and bustling, with dim lighting and snug seating--several times I've engaged in conversation with the people at the next table since we were so close to each other. The food is very good, but since it's not a traditional steakhouse, the meat and potatoes entrees have a more flair. Expect to pay around $80-$100 for dinner for two unless you stick with apps or sandwiches. Cocktails are also pricey but the bartenders know what they're doing and each time I've been there, the service has been top notch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AyBeeOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Apres Show Venue”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped at Meat & Potatoes last night after a Benedum Center show for a light snack before our hour-long drive home. We had stopped in previously for a snack of oysters on the half shell a few months ago and were quite pleased.

Sat at the bar, had excellent service and drinks, and delicious ahi tuna taquitos. Yum!

Can't wait to brunch here before our next Benedum production.

As other reviewers have observed, the staff is courteous, professional and solicitous. The food presentation and preparation is lovely. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenAcresWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Downtown Delight”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a group of 8 people and they seated us in our own little room - perfect size for us.
The staff was friendly, professional and quick with our drinks, appetizers and meal.
The pot roast, which is something we normally wouldn't order in a restaurant, was outstanding! Tender braised chuck roast, carrots, celery and whipped potatoes - comfort food at its best.
The hanger steak also was great. Fingerling potatoes brussel leaves and chopped bacon with a light meat sauce drizzled on top.
The duck breast was also very good. with sauerkraut pierogies and chimichuri.
A couple nights later, 2 of us came back and sat at the bar and ordered the artisanal cheeseboard and a couple drinks. Bartenders were professional, quick and witty (good sense of humor).
Visit this place. Its well worth it!
Make reservations in advance - it fills up quick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimijoe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat & Potatoes also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Meat & Potatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing