We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great restaurant - buy more wine glasses!”
Review of Meat & Potatoes

Meat & Potatoes
Ranked #16 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Street
Transit: Being a downtown Pittsburgh location, there are many options and we recommend going to the Port Authority website for schedules, rates and general information.
Description: Meat & Potatoes is a place with a warm, inviting pub atmosphere that serves sophisticated, yet unpretentious food. An extensive, and creative, cocktail, beer and wine list is an integral part of what we do at our wonderful establishment. Come visit a place where the locals dine!
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great restaurant - buy more wine glasses!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant. The food and atmosphere are great and I thought it was very reasonably priced. My only complaint is that they tried to pour our red wine into low ball glasses because they ran out of wine glasses. We had to wait 10 minutes to get wine glasses for others to free up and be cleaned. That's an easy fix...buy more glasses! Everything else was superb. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr8taste55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    263
    103
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Porklious”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing pork chop served with pastromi bacon. It will be awhile before I stop thing about this meal. Mushroom flatbread was also good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A and A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Late-Night Meal In Pittsburgh!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in here after a Pirates game to start off a night in the city (It was only a short walk from our hotel). Great wine/beer selection and cocktails. We ended up getting 3-4 appetizers to share and all were delicious. The mussels were our favorite (in a Thai Curry sauce) and there were plenty of them. All of the portions were quite generous for the price! Would certainly recommend this to anyone in the area and if we're back in Pittsburgh soon we will definitely go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best brunch!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came on a Saturday for brunch (make reservations!) and were extremely happy with our choice of restaurant. I had a bloody Mary (build it yourself) for only $5 with a bacon flavored vodka. They had olive, cheese, meat and veggie selections to add to your bloody mary, along with different spices, horseradish and other items. It was pretty amazing. My husband got the chicken and waffles and I got a beef brisket biscuit and we started with home fries. Let me tell you that the portions are HUGE. We should not have gotten the home fries to start, but they were so good. Great value for their portions. Could have easily charged more and I wouldn't have thought any different. Go here!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie_T1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo,ms
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“THE gastropub in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be allowed to belly-up to the bar and enjoy a wonderful meal at this small plates gem in Pittsburgh this weekend.Great ambience,a very imaginative menu(the buttermilk fried chicken livers were excellent)and just a pleasant buzz in this fine little paen to gastropub fare.Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat & Potatoes also viewed

 

Been to Meat & Potatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing