We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse
Ranked #35 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband took me there for our anniversary and it was wonderful. The restaurant is upscale by not stuffy. The wait staff was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The manager also stopped by to make sure everything was good. My husband and I both had filet mignon and it was cooked to perfection. It melted in your mouth. We also had a Caesar salad and lobster bisque they were fantastic as well. We definitely will return. If you are visiting Pittsburgh it is a great stop as it is located between the football and baseball fields right alond the river.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    43
    23
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place was fantastic!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just enjoyed a thoroughly wonderful dinner here. We had a dinner party of 16 to celebrate our niece's college graduation hosted by her parents. They offered a scaled down menu which made total sense given the size of the party. The selections were all delicious, started with a crab cake appetizer (not an appetizer in any sense of the word, it was a full size cake and all lump with practically no filler) followed by caesar salad and then choice of 5 entrees. The filet was my choice and was done perfect. SIL ordered the chilean sea bass, another perfect choice. The sides were served family style which made perfect sense and we finished the meal with choice of 2 desserts; flourless chocolate torte and cheesecake, both heavenly. The service was impeccible as well during the entire meal, management checked in periodically with our BIL to ensure that everything was to his liking, servers were very attentive, good cocktails and good list of wines by the glass. Overall a wonderful experience, but I cannot comment on the cost but would assume it was rather pricey, but as other reviewers have said you get what you pay for. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The bone in filet blows Ruth Chris away!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This Hungry detective and wife...made a reservation before the Pittsburgh Pirates baseball game during the week. We had a drink at the bar...I had the Tito's mule served in a copper mug...COLD and refreshing especially at $6. My wife had a cosmopolitan. This place is great...Its five stars but no worries wearing your full Pirates gear with hat!!! My wife had the lobster bisque and a ice burg salad wedge. I ordered the bone in filet at $50...I know that may sound extreme but this was the best filet I have ever eaten hands down...Ruth Chris and Morton's need to take a lesson...seriously!!!

VERDICT: Case closed...Hyde Park knows its stuff and the staff goes above and beyond the call of duty!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHungryDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have eaten at Hyde Park a number of times and have always had a wonderful experience, whether it's been a special event or just the two of us. To start, the Wedge salad is the best. Pick any steak on the menu and you'll be happy. The service is also exceptional and the atmosphere is comfortable and pleasing. We most recently were there for Mother's Day. On special holidays, they not only offer a prix fixe menu, but the entire dining menu is also available. Also received a gift card for a future date! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good and plenty”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good selection, service excellent, portions generous, food delicious! Somewhat pricey but you do get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing