We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
143
149
85
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
149
85
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen parking garage front desk basketball court bedroom suite marriott properties carnegie mellon home away from home the sofa bed shuttle service yogurt large tv oakland area complimentary breakfast working order hockey tournament nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 437 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

I stayed at this hotel in October 2015 when coming back to Pittsburgh to clean out my storage unit. It was a good hotel located on the backside of the medical center and three of the ethnic neighborhood centers of Pittsburgh's more known groups (Bloomfield for Italian Americans, The Hill District for African Americans, and Polish Hill for Polish Americans are all right nearby). There was a great view onto the the East Side of Pittsburgh from my room, the hotel was several stories high, it offered a great breakfast and while it was a little difficult to get to due to winds in the road, it was nice to stay at. Pricewise it was about $169 for the night, a little high, but less expensive than other downtown hotels and convenient to much of the city while maintaining a nice inviting feel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

I feel a little guilty posting this review because it should in no way reflect upon the staff. The staff was nothing but professional, friendly, and helpful. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about the hotel. Upon entering, I noticed right away that the lobby was dated and smelled less than fresh. Our room was also on the shabby side and the cooking smells in the hallway were overwhelming. I understand that this is a "residence" inn but we have stayed at other Marriott residence inns and they were lovely. This one was not up to par.
It is time that Marriott invests some money in this hotel, especially with the rates that they charge. We will need to stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Aed66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

We've stayed here a few times since our son came to Pitt. Our first stay in summer of 2014 was fine. Every time since, it's gone steadily downhill. This time, we opened our room upon check-in and were greeted with a smoke haze. We were given another room, which smelled overwhelmingly like a cat litter box. The third room also smelled like a combination of smoke/strong air freshener, but we were tired of looking for rooms, so we took it. This morning we left the room at 9:30, and upon returning at 3:45, our room had not been cleaned. We were told they had 20 extra rooms to clean, and it would eventually get done. We said no thanks, and I proceeded to make the bed and clean the sink. I just noticed the area under the microwave (which is at my eye-level) is disgustingly dirty. Time to find a new Pittsburgh home away from home.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Nanceejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIManager3896, Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to articulate your concerns by sharing your experience with the hotel.

You indicated in your response that there were issues with multiple rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Your comments have been shared with every department in an effort to ensure that this was an isolated situation. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience during your visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

RI Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

We were surprised with how big the room was, especially after living in a hotel room in nyc for a week. Full sized kitchen too!
The service was outstanding and all the staff were very nice. Complimentary hot coffee, warm apple cider etc by reception was a lovely touch. Some nights there was even a meal sitting in a crock pot. No room service but ordering food was a breeze, delivered to the hotel door too.
We really were made to feel like we were home! Decor a little dated but I grew to love the carpet:) it was a little bit of a hassle to get around but the hotel shuttle helped with that.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank Mmmarc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Staff was very friendly and helpful but the place is in need of refreshing. We did appreciate the shuttle service they offer which covers the immediate area. The location is within a $10 Uber fare for downtown restaurants.

Room Tip: Adequate if you can get it at a good rate
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews