We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large rooms but thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“large rooms but thin walls”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My room was nice except for an overwhelming air freshener odor. The bed was comfy, but like other reviewer's, I found the walls were very thin and could hear TV/conversations of my neighbors. I used the fan to create white noise. However, there is very little temp control. Having a kitchen was a perk and the hotel offers shuttle service to the area which was very useful, drivers were very helpful, friendly. There isn't much in walking distance. They allow dogs in the hotel so allergy sufferers should be aware of this. It was convenient to have breakfast on-site.

Room Tip: having a room next door to hotel laundry was quieter than other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    77
    36
    19
See reviews for
165
40
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, rooms were pleasant and clean. It was freezing outside while I was there but my room was warm and cozy. Room included kitchenette with fridge and microwave, a good value for the price. Wifi worked well. TV rotates so you can watch from the couch or the bed. Included breakfast had plenty of variety- sausage, potatoes, cereal, muffins and more. They charge extra for parking but so do just about all the hotels in Pittsburgh.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mintcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, DE
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice hotel with great rooms. Very big with a stove, fridge, microwave, sofa, etc.. I stayed in a mini suite and it was great. Breakfast was free and better than the average breakfast. I would stay again at this place. It is close to the hospital and college as well. Off street parking for $15 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the fridge and stove if your going to have food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Definitely a below average property.

First - the positives. The staff is so, so, so nice. Five stars for them.

Now for the rest....

*They make you sign a no smoking/no party statement when you check in (I get it, it's close to campus). However the room I was given smelt like a filthy ashtray. The front desk immediately changed my room but housekeeping never should have released it.

*Walls are THIN. You can hear every toilet flush, sneeze and TV show from the rooms around you. The person in the room next to me was not "loud" but he definitely enjoyed sword fighting movies cause I could hear it all night.

*Pass through doors secured only with a slide bar. Not a deadbolt, a $3 slide bar - not safe!

*No functioning thermostat. There was an Eisenhower era "control" of sorts that had two settings - "warmer" and "cooler". As it relates to what? The surface of the sun? And you can't open any windows either so your room will be super stuffy.

*Room furniture is played out - the vinyl on my chair was peeling, the sofa was stained - gross! Since this place caters to UPMC patients, those with compromised immunity should think twice about staying here.

Overall, other than an amazingly nice staff, this place kind of sucks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We drove to Pittsburgh for a hockey tournament. We were very content with the hotel. The staff was also very willing to help. The rooms were more spacious than the typical hotel room. The hotel allowed us to having a team dinner in the lounge. The kids were also allowed to have a conference room to play in. Many hotels are much less willing to go the extra mile to make your stay fun. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilsu1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I had to travel to Pittsburgh for a family emergency and decided to stay here. We were very pleased with the hotel and the staff was very accommodating. We are platinum members and have been for a few years and recommend this location to anyone. Not a prime location but quiet and centrally located in the city. Very clean, comfortable, secure and outstanding staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank COZY_IN_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have stayed at this Residence Inn before and found it acceptable. Unfortunately this time we had a really bad stay and it was especially bad because we were in a position in which we were not able to change rooms. Thus, due to paper thin walls, and some very loud and strange noises next door--which continued most of the night, we didn't sleep even a minute all night. The beds were also awful but quite honestly, I still might have slept if not for the neighbors.
Breakfast was very good--lots of choices; however, we left after one night and found another place to stay.
Something else to consider is the parking fee of $15, which can be avoided at other hotels.
Would not return when much nicer places are available for slightly more money. And they have thicker walls!

Room Tip: With walls this thin, I'm not sure it's possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3896 Bigelow Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing