We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has gone downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Has gone downhill”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this property and up till now we always enjoyed it. However, this time the room had an unpleasant oder (so much so that I washed all my clothing when I returned home to get the smell out!) The upolstered furniture in the room was soiled and in need of being updated. Not the nice property that I remembered. The complimentary breakfast was still pretty good though.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you finalize your room selection to make sure that it smells okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    74
    35
    18
See reviews for
150
35
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here to tour the University of Pittsburgh during one of their ready set Pitt program weekends. The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We loved the free shuttle service and didn't have to move the car. Breakfast was included and was the usual. The pool was clean. The only downside was that the wifi was not working. I mentioned this when we checked out and they waived our parking fee. Should we return to the area I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSRLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Though the hotel has a few quirks, we found this to be a very convenient, clean & well-situated hotel for our 2 days of college visits.
Negatives:1) $15.00 parking fee; 2) pending on which floor of the hotel you are on, you may have to take 2 elevators from the car park to your room;3) you have to take an elevator to the 1st floor to check in (but I've encountered this at a few other residence inns too).
Positives: 1) The staff were incredibly nice & helpful; 2) the room/whole hotel was very clean; 3) it is very well located for visiting U Pitt and they have an excellent, regular, free shuttle bus which will take you to Carnegie Mellon or downtown as well as U Pitt. 4) Good choice of hot & cold items for buffet breakfast; 5) swimming pool and basketball court! 6) tea, coffee, hot chocolate & iced water available all day in lobby; 6) There's a neat little Italian restaurant just a 5 minute walk away if you don't want to eat in your room.

The room was a decent size & the main bed was very comfortable - the sofa bed was about as good as it gets, but it's still a sofa bed! I can't talk for other rooms, but ours looked fairly new, the bathroom was very light & clean and the kitchen area was very well equipped with full size fridge/freezer, microwave, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Residence Inn is easily within walking distance from University Center, which is nice, as the roads in Pittsburgh are incredibly confusing. As an added benefit, you can leave your car in their garage until 5 pm on the day that you check out. Parking does cost $15/day. However, there are problems. The elevators are incredibly slow. You also have to take 2 separate elevators to get to your room (1 to the lobby, 1 from the lobby to the rooms). You exit the hot elevators into freezing, weird-smelling halls. The rooms are clean, but they really need a renovation. The bathrooms are really dark (just 1 dim light) and the furniture is showing its age. The headboard was riddled with scratches, and the carpet was laden with stains. The chair in the living room was literally disintegrating, and the sofa bed was incredibly uncomfortable. On the plus side, everything was clean to the touch, the rooms are large, the ceilings are high, and the views are good.

Breakfast is really good. They have waffles with lots of toppings, oatmeal & granola with toppings, meat, yogurt parfait, and all of the other things you'd expect. You can eat on their nice terrace. If they updated the rooms, the hotel would be really nice. The location is great, but the rooms are just disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann8431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My room smells like an Indian restaurant, the chair is so old that the leather is cracked and rubbed all the way through, the privacy curtain does not close all the way, the AC does not keep the room cold even on maximum, the carpet is dirty in the hallways, and brochures for a pizza restaurant everywhere that you look in the public areas (tacky), and parking is $15 - this is by far the worst Marriott I've ever stayed at. The only positive note: front desk was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Awkward check-in such that it is not at the level you arrive at with luggage. Rooms large enough and nice to have three TV's in the two bedroom suite. The furniture was outdated. Didn't like the $15/day parking fee. Upside - very conveniently located for exploring downtown Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPSDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We normally stay at Marriott properties whenever we travel. This property is centrally located and was easy to get to. We stayed on a pet friendly floor so the room was decent, but we could tell that pets frequent there.
Based on location I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSC38nsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#52 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3896 Bigelow Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing