We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Overall, had a pleasurable stay. Beds were comfortable, nice kitchenette and living room area. The free breakfast each morning was convenient and free. The hot food (sausage, ham, eggs, etc.) was just okay, but there was a lot more from bagels to fruit to yogurt and juice. Shuttle service looked easy to use, but I didn't use it since I had a car. Parking garage was underneath hotel and was secure and clean. Nice patio with tables and chairs. The staff was super friendly. It's walking distance to craig street (shops and restaurants) and also to 5th avenue (little longer walk though). Lots of architecture in Pittsburgh and it's a beautiful area. Just keep in mind that this hotel is not in the thick of it all - it's up on a hill a little removed from hustle and bustle. I would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassIS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    74
    35
    18
See reviews for
150
35
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I traveled alone for a bodybuilding competition nearby the hotel. It was a physically demanding trip and the shuttle was invaluable as there is limited taxi service in the area. Everyone, from Will at the front desk to Dan the shuttle driver to the housekeeping staff were, in a word, incredible! You can stay at many hotels, but if you want the most personable caring staff and the nicest rooms with home type amenities, especially if you are visiting the areas hospitals, please, this should be your only choice. I'll be back two more times this summer, i wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Level Contributor
194 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel is next to UPMC, offers apartments with kitchen, washing facility, small gym and pool. I had a room that must have been next to a electricity generator, since there was an annoying sound all night that could not be located in the room, so don't get room #211. Shuttle service to UPMC, but not really flexible, taxi waiting time is very long!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the last two months. As a Marriott Gold member they always give me a little welcome gift and have the first names of other reward members listed on a small board at the front desk. I have not received that type of recognition at some of the other Marriott's so I really like their extra effort. We enjoy their breakfast. They have a nice selection and also three days during the week they have a manager's evening reception with snacks. We used the free shuttle service to Oakland hospitals often and appreciate not having to drive the congested and difficult traffic. They make it easy we just call when ready to be picked up and returned to the hotel. The van drivers have been very warm and welcoming. Going back and forth to medical appointments has been made much easier for us because of the great service here.

Room Tip: If you request a high floor room to the left you should have a pretty good view of the Oakland area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bls112002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed here to see Michael Jackson's Immortal Tour at the Peterson Event Center and quickly found out that it would have been better to stay here longer than the two days we booked since the hotel had a huge fridge, stove, and even offered grocery service. A downside for me was that there was no book in the room for nearby restaurants, places to visit or what the hotel had to offer. I discovered that the hotel had a theater/billiard room after I came home and read another review! A front desk clerk was very helpful in suggesting things to do, but I honestly don't know how we could have found some things without my cellphone which has these features. On the other hand, the view from our room was breath taking. We were above the terrace and you could see miles of homes and beautiful mountains.On our second day we drove to the Pittsburgh Zoo and Aquarium. I highly recommend it for a family outing or for anyone who loves animals as we do. The admission price was very reasonable and the zoo was beautiful and clean. The manager and staff at this hotel were very friendly and made you feel welcomed. Overall, it's a nice clean hotel in a great location within walking or shuttle distance to many places

Room Tip: Higher rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjmami137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel. We normally stay at the Courtyard in the Waterfront. This hotel is much closer to where our son lives so we decided to give it a shot. We booked a one bedroom for two nights and arrived a little early but the room was ready. It featured a nice size living room with kitchen and dining table. The bedroom was a tad on the smallish side and the bathroom sink was outside the bathroom. I did notice a couple of small things - a hole beneath the bathroom sink lights and above the mirror and some mildew in the grout on the bathroom floor but other than that the room was attractive and inviting. When we left for the first day, the room attendant asked us if there was anything we needed and we replied no thinking she meant "anything extra". Unfortunately when we returned, we found she skipped our room. No clean towels or sheets. I went to the front desk and they showed me where the clean towels were kept and offered to credit Marriott Rewards points to my account for the misunderstanding. I didn't consider this a deal breaker and my overall opinion is I would stay here again if the rate was favorable to the Courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here while doing college visits with our son. I think this was one of the friendlies hotels we've ever encountered. The manager was in the lobby much of the time, chatting with guests and asking if we needed anything. When we checked in, they gave us a gift bag of sorts with a snack, a couple water bottles, and a list of nearby restaurants. The desk staff was very nice. The breakfast was great with many hot food choices. In the evening, they had a complimentary nacho buffet. We had enough to eat to call it dinner. The room was quite and good with a full kitchen and separate bedroom. The view was a pretty little terrace area in the back with a basketball court. I think this would be a nice hotel for families with young kids b/c the bb court and terrace area are next to the indoor pool. It would be a nice place for kids to run around outside. Son used the treadmill and said it was good. We all swam and used the hot tub in the evening. Only odd thing was the entrance to the hotel. You park in the garage and take an elevator to the lobby. But it was ok. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#53 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3896 Bigelow Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing