We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great location--some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This former office building and nightclub makes for a beautiful hotel. The lobby is pretty impressive, and the rooms have interesting angles and high ceilings, to add a lot of elegance. Furnishings are also elegant, the bathroom large and high-quality. The soap, shampoo and lotion provided are Aveeno brand, and the tea and coffee in the room are also good, especially the tea. There is an iron and ironing board, robe, good in-room safe and coffee-maker. Our room had a small window with a direct view of PNC park and the fireworks at the park. Very nice.

I hate arriving at downtown hotels because there is limited space for loading and unloading, but I never saw a back-up out-front, and the hotel was totally booked some nights when I was there. Parking across the street in the garage is reasonable. Valet parking is also available.

I appreciate that we were given a choice of unlocking the minibar or not upon arrival. Apples and oranges are available in the lobby for free in the afternoons. It would be hard to get in and out of the front entrance without the staff greeting you and holding the door for you. In terms of staff, the bellhops and doormen are really outstanding and helpful.

There were a few negatives. Our single room was a bit on the small side, but decent for an urban hotel. Outlets for the laptops were not convenient--the one under the desk was used by the desk lamp and alarm clock, and the next closest was behind the curtains and not that easy to use.

Check-in went well, but there were dirty socks in a drawer in our room. Shortly after arrival, a staff person knocked on the door then opened it without giving us much chance to react. We were in the middle of changing, but fortunately got out of view. One night, the housekeeper failed to refill the tissues and replace the used cups, coffee and tea, though a call corrected that problem. Whenever I needed to mail a letter or ask for a map at the front desk, I had to wait while desk staff and the concierge dealt with issues that took a lot more time. Nothing hugely terrible, but disappointing at a hotel at this level and listed as one of the top ten in the U.S. by Tripadvisor. If you are likely to be upset by these sorts of lapses, I would suggest staying elsewhere. Also check the amenities, as the hotel lacks some things like a pool, although guests may access a pool next door.

Overall, though, I got a very good rate, and it really is a nice property in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

Was looking forward with anticipation, having stayed elsewhere in town not so highly rated. Quite a disappointment. Service?-No bellman on arrival; no concierge; no one even thought to mention breakfast in the lobby. Room? Many highlighted amenities nowhere to be found; bathroom sink that did not drain; the cheapest, blurry flat screen TV money can buy; $10 charge for internet with the priciest rooms in town; room hallway almost as large as the sleeping area itself; nice linens, but furniture rescued from a 1960's liquidation sale; toiletries of unknown origin-since when is "rose mint "or some such a shampoo a guy would like to try?? Public Areas? Give me a break. Fabulous architecture tarted up in 1960's style; Large diaphanous somethings hanging here and there to dress the walls and lights, I guess. A lobby restaurant a cross between fast food modern and 50's diner and a matching bar as appealing as a train station waiting room with outfitting to match. Computer in the lobby to save a trip upstairs; unfortunately, inoperative for three days straight with a wrinkled out of order sign stylishly scotch taped across the screen. What are these people thinking??? And at 12:05 on checkout day a call "What time are you checking out today?" "in the next 15 minutes, by 12:30 at the latest" "you'll be charged for another day" "At what time please?" "At 1:00." Last I checked, 12:30 routinely arrives before 1:00. No" thank you for accommodating, I hope you enjoyed your stay"--Nothing in the way of service to raise this hotel above your average, everyday lodging at half the price or less.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clytoneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed her for two nights to see the Phillies play at PNC Park. I can't say enough good things about the hotel. Rooms were large and clean. Hotel has a nice bar and restaurant. Food is very good and not overly priced. Parking across the street in the garage was only $20 for a two night stay. You can walk to everything downtown and the ballpark is only a 5 minute walk over the Roberto Clemente bridge. I will definately stay here again on our next trip to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My husband surprised me with a great room here when we went to the Pirates game-our room actually overlooked the field! The lobby was gorgeous, and our room was large, clean, and just lovely! The location is convenient for downtown activities, and I cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteSoxGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Can say thanks for the upgrade to Club - made all the difference - loved the room (great views), great breakfast, great service. Ideal for the Warhol Museum - took a ride on the finicular and ate at the Italian Restaurant celebrating their 25 years. On the way to Fallingwater.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I originally booked at the Marriott near the "igloo" during a penguins game (bty don't stay there unless you have to!)
they redirected me here, which I always avoided because I thought it was going to be expensive, but it was not so bad. The food in the hotel was fab, I had steak tartare and a great dinner. It was sad to see not to many people eating there as I would certainly return for a dinner.
The room had a great view and was quiet (for sleeping). I remember this as the fulton building and it is nice that they kept most of the charm.
Of the hotels in pittsburgh, I have stayed at the william penn(tiny rooms, ok food), the westin(I don't think that is what it is called anymore, but it really needs a facelift) , the hilton(what happened to you) , the sheraton (station square died). this is the best downtown with a place to eat and near the water plus the theater. Love this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Absolutely bowled over by the ambience at this Renaissance hotel. Public areas were stunningly beautiful. Our room was classic in design, but contained a host of updated amenities. IMO, truly deserves its ranking as Pittsburgh's Best!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $198 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing