We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,868)
Filter reviews
1,868 results
Traveler rating
1,072
515
184
62
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,072
515
184
62
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street the roberto clemente bridge allegheny river cultural district beautiful hotel corner room high ceilings heinz hall the concierge lounge club level great view of the river beautiful lobby historic building baseball stadium within walking distance pirates game
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,868 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here many times for work and it’s definitely one of the best downtown hotels in Pittsburgh. They have a nice gym if that matters. I hadn’t tried the Westin, but stayed in most others and they have the best equipment options. The rooms are nice. Some are really big, some small, but all pretty decent. They lounge for those with status is quite nice as well. I would give them 5 stars, but the elevator situation is a bit of a nightmare. They truly need to get this resolved. I went there on and off for a year and there wasn’t a time I was there all 3 worked. I know they were doing renovations, but for a year!? There were many times only one was working and a couple times all were down and I had to take the stairs, which is unacceptable. Hopefully this is resolved soon. Otherwise, great place.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank PillowPopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Beautiful building, comfortable rooms, big bathrooms, and great location. We stayed here late last year while traveling to see family and enjoyed our visit. The staff is friendly, and extremely helpful. They were quick to give recommendations, hail taxis, and always welcomed us back with a smile each review. Every night we got home we enjoyed a drink at the bar and were very comfortable to engage and chat with the bartenders. We'll definitely be back.

Bonus - it's at the tip of downtown and is in a super safe area. You can walk over to Market Street or across the bridge to any of the stadiums. This location is central to all of what is the hype downtown.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jairabree82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. We are glad to hear you had such a great stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Brendan Abraham

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Arrived at hotel to celebrate 18th wedding anniversary anticipating a wonderful hotel and relaxing experience. Walking into a dark lobby (no windows or interesting lights) with shabby overstuffed furniture and loud odd music playing were my first clues that we were in trouble. I had booked a luxury corner room at the top rate and thought things might improve when we settled in I was wrong. The room had ripped sheer curtains, stains on the couch, chipped furniture of the lowest quality, a shower head that sprayed water off to the side, dirty brochures and the cheapest toiletries. The view was nice as is the hotel's location. Renaissance Hotels are usually quite lovely. This one is an embarrassment to the Marriott corporation. We did have a few laughs over the awfulness. The service people were nice. Caveat emptor.

Room tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peabo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Peabo2013,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced.
We take great pride ensuring all of our guests expectations are exceeded and it is evident that we fell short. If you could please email me at babraham@renpgh.com so we could further discuss.

Sincerely,

Brendan Abraham

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Room was overlooking the river & ballpark. Walking distance to plenty of places to eat downtown and right next to the bridge to PNC Park. Rooms and hotel was clean. Kind of a old style hotel. Very friendly & helpful staff. Highly recommend the hotel.

Room tip: Try to get a high floor and a view of the river and city. Some street noise being on a busy street downtown.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Kevin P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. We are glad to hear you had such a great stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Brendan Abraham

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We landed at the entrance and admired the massive chains holding the canopy, the dragon sconces supporting the overhand and the eager gentlemen racing for our luggage and the door. The massive bronze and glass doors pivoted to reveal an airlock with sliding glass doors that opened into an alabaster marble lobby that expanded to the dragon scale glass dome backlit with amethyst lighting.

A warm smile created ya at the computerized check in desk. Within moments we checked in provided key cards and directed to the spacious elevators. The arched ceilings of mosaic tile warmly reflected the light from the chandeliers. We glided to the sixth floor to a our king size bedroom. The room was ample size with a large bath and the expected accouterments. We found comfy bathrobes in the closets and squishy pillows that nestled your head into a peaceful sleep on a wonderful matress.

The reception space for the wedding we attended was a large space on the second floor. A pre-reception space for guest to gather and enjoy drinks and finger food overflowed into the balcony overlooking the lobby and the dual marble staircase. The dining hall overlooked the river and stadium and easily held the almost 200 guest well into the night.

We took ample advantage of the Braddock’s bar and restaurant and were not disappointed in the quality and quantity of food and beverage. The staff throughout the establishment was kind, warm, engaging and helpful our entire visit.

The Renaissance has set a new standard for where to stay when visiting Pittsburg.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan A, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Doug P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. We are glad to hear you had such a great stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Brendan Abraham

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews