We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
$169
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
$204
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
$119
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
$188
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveler rating
965
479
157
52
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
965
479
157
52
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspnc parkacross the streetgrand staircasethe roberto clemente bridgeallegheny rivercultural districtbeautiful hotelcorner roomhigh ceilingsheinz hallclub levelthe concierge loungegreat view of the riverhistoric buildingbaseball stadiumbeautiful lobbywalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The room (2 queens) was quite large, bathroom a nice size. Had duvet covered in sheet so I know it is changed. Plenty of thick towels and a robe. Concierge level had standard amenities. Beautiful historical hotel at the riverfront, across river from PNC Park (Pirates) and you could hear the noise when things got exciting. The service is good. The rooms are spacious, but I had only one chair in the room, should have had at least two. The property is quiet when the room faces the interior court. Located in the heart of great Pittsburgh entertainment! Took a walk along riverfront, it was a beautiful evening. Definitely would recommend.

Room Tip: 2 Queen bedded rooms are larger
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrRobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I have stayed here more than a hundred times....I travel to pgh regularly for work.

The good: the staff are all very friendly and care about the guests. The door men and valets are great. The location is perfect for getting around PGH.

There seems to be a steady decline in the maintenance of the rooms. Examples: A/C heat not working , TV doesn't work (I now know how to fix it myself), light bulbs out, no chair or ottoman in room, and the biggest annoyance (which is really more than an annoyance when you need to sleep) are the slamming doors! They are just terrible. I have become "that guest" now. I call when the things are broken and missing. Too, as a platinum premier member, I have only been assigned to the club levels a handful of times....even when I ask, they say, sorry they are full....kind of feels like they take my hotel choice for granted at this point

They added refrigerators to each room! This is great and very much appreciated! If you like breakfast and have access to the
Concierges lounge, they do a great job!

The beds are really comfortable and housekeeping does their very best considering how busy they are.

I really like the Renn, but would encourage them to strive for consistency in working order rooms.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank WOF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I booked this on Priceline and I am so glad I did. It is definitely not worth full price.

I asked for a room away from the elevators and the ice machines and I was given a room across from BOTH. I changed rooms, and the next room was MUCH smaller. The staff is friendly and accommodating, but the rooms are not especially impressive.

Still, it was a comfortable stay and it was nice being downtown. The Three Rivers Point Park is withing walking distance. There are also very many good restaurant that are very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queens are much larger than the rooms with a king.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel. The majority of our rooms are large and spacious. We would be happy to place you in one of them the next time your travels bring you to the Pittsburgh area.

Have a Great Day!

Paul Newmaster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Beautiful historical hotel with all the bells and whistles. The service is amazing and you truly feel like a guest when you stay. The rooms are spacious with beautiful views. The property is surprisingly quiet and located in the heart of great Pittsburgh entertainment! Try an evening concert at Stage AE and walk back across the bridge to take in the city skyline at night! I do wish the Concierge Lounge was open more hours and had more substance around dinner time.

Room Tip: Face the river and stadiums!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ardt7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just walking through the front doors you'll be impressed. You enter into a decadent, marble entryway with a grand staircase to your left. The second floor, where the meeting spaces are, has a balcony overlooking the downstairs sea of marble. Some nights you're greeted to jazz music being played live by a soloist in the corner, other nights it's old movies on a big screen. There's a certain air about the place that just takes you back to like the roaring twenties. The front desk staff and bellman are always very friendly and helpful. They show pride in their city and are more than happy to direct you to the best places in town. Every time we stay, we get a room with a gorgeous view of PNC park, which is stunning at night, you can see the river and one of the several bridges in town. The restaurant downstairs is pricey but delicious- perfect for a special occasion or romantic dinner for two. There's also several cute bars on the same block as the hotel, excellent for a night cap.
Getting here is extremely easy. You can obviously drive and park, it's in the Theater District though, so on show nights traffic can be tough. We took the bus and walked all three times we've stayed here. From the airport you take the 28x Airport Flier ($3.75 exact change only) towards downtown and the nearest stop is only 2 blocks from the Renaissance. The hotel is also close to other bus stops if you need to go out of the city or any other location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of PNC or even just the river, it's gorgeous. Some of the rooms with one bed in them can be a little on the smaller side, so just beware. It's a really old building that has been converted into a Renaissance, so with that charm you also get varying room sizes.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews