We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Pittsburgh Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Pittsburgh Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I recently visited this hotel for the weekend while attending the Jason Aldean concert in Pittsburgh. He is a Platinum Premier Elite Marriott member and we used points, so I can't comment on the price. I really liked this hotel...in fact, I would say it is my favorite in Pittsburgh. The location was excellent--a short walk over the Clemente Bridge to the North Shore, but located in downtown so close to the convention center, the point, and other downtown attractions. The features of the building were really cool and we enjoyed the restaurant as well. We used the valet parking service as it is much nicer than trying to park in downtown Pittsburgh. There is however a parking garage directly across the street from the entrance if you wish to park yourself. I am hoping to have the chance to visit this hotel again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    428
    138
    36
    24
See reviews for
250
553
72
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. The location was fantastic: right beside many theatres, and across the Roberto Clemente bridge from PNC Park - a lovely baseball stadium.

The King room was large and comfortable but pretty boring. The mini-bar was already empty which allowed us to fill it with baby stuff, water, juice, etc. without all the trouble of taking it out (and possibly getting charged)

Lobby was lovely. There was live music playing one night which was very nice.

At check-in since we booked through Priceline we were originally assigned a 2 double room, but were allowed to switch to a King on a lower floor which worked fine for us. The street was quiet, but during our stay the Pirates were not playing.

Self parking was not on-site - it was across the street in a public parking garage. It actually worked out pretty nicely except for the day where it stormed heavily - it was quite inexpensive compared to most paid hotel parking ($7 on weekends flat).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'll start off by saying this is one of my favorite hotels in Pittsburgh. The building itself is top notch, with interesting architecture and an amazing lobby. The rooms are spacious and if you are facing the river, offer an amazing view.

The hotel is a short walk from PNC Park (if you are at a Pirate game, it is the building with the archway that you can see across the river from inside the park) and most downtown businesses.

Room Tip: Request a high room facing the river and you will have a great view out over the river. A lot of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in April while on business. While the location is fantastic (close to the stadiums and theatre district) it is lacking in a few other areas.

Parking is not available at the hotel so you will have to valet. Unless it is full, at which point you have to find a parking garage and lug your suitcase back to the hotel. If you are arriving late at night, that is something to consider.

My room was not that clean (more dusty than anything) and the check in service was very poor. No eye contact, no hello, I would have been better off checking in at a kiosk. To be fair their was a AFL-CIO conference being held at the hotel and they seemed to be taxing the staff to no end that day (mass of people at the counter demanding service).

I would probably try the hotel again because of the location and see if the second time is a charm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for the issues you encountered and, I can assure you that you will have a better experience the next time you stay with us. I want to let you know that you can always pull in front of the hotel and drop your bags with our bell staff if you would like to park in the garage across the street. We would be more than happy to assist in any way that we can to get you and your luggage to your room as quickly as possible. Thank you again and have a great day!

Paul Newmaster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Pittsburgh so we didn't know what to expect. Great city and a great hotel in a very good location. We did not have to rent a car at all. Easy to walk from place to place or take a friendly taxi ride when needed. The restaurant and lobby bar are also top notch and you shouldn't feel guilty for eating there as opposed to the many good restaurants in the area.

Two minor concerns: The Concierge Lounge is small and dark with a limited selection. Also, front desk personnel weren't quite as sharp as they could be. They never contacted us when our room was ready and didn't provide accurate info on airport arrangements. Bell staff and doormen were excellent and picked up the slack.

Pittsburgh is a wonderful city and this is a great hotel to stay and enjoy it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been converted to a Marriott, great blend of historic feel and modern amenities. The location is excellent, steps from the Robert Clemente bridge and the riverfront trails. Head the other direction and you are surrounded by terrific dining & nightlife. The staff at the hotel was top notch. We had to wait a few minutes for our room and they offered us drinks and appetizers in the bar while we waited. Room was clean and comfortable, nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband, two teen-age sons and I stayed here for a long weekend and couldn't have been happier. First, the lobby, with its sweeping staircase, was very impressive. A wedding was actually held there on Saturday night. Check-in was smooth and welcoming. Our room, a double with queen beds, was very spacious and and so felt more like a suite. Bathrooms were a good size and the entire room was nicely appointed and updated. Very comfortable beds and pillows. We had a view of the ballpark, Roberto Clemente Bridge, and the water below. Beautiful. The downtown location was a 5-mins walk to Market Square, with lots of restaurants to choose from.
The only negative, which was very minor for us, was that bathroom has a pocket style door that is very difficult to close, so we usually left it a tiny bit open rather than risk crunching our fingers trying to close it entirely. If a fully closed bathroom door is a must for you, you may want to ask about this when you check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ballpark and bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing