We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during a 2 day stay in Pittsburgh. The lobby staff were welcoming and accommodating (even when we showed up early for our check-in). The room was huge with a wonderful view of the Three Sisters. There is a restaurant on site, though we opted to eat at nearby places. The lobby is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Choose a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MdmVerdier87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for the Weekend, Was an amazing hotel with outgoing staff, from check in to departure Everyone was fabulous from the room to the Amazing Manhattan's in the bar, Easy walk to PNC for the Game and we chose to dine on Saturday Night in Braddocks which was Amazing. Wil Definitely Be Back !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieFamily412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great historic fulton building, it is difficult to see the side entrance but you can't miss the building. This is a great location to walk to PNC Park or Heinz field and you have many great restaurants/bars to pick from very close to the front door. This front door is always manned by a doorman and has a very welcoming front desk. A nice touch that they do here is walk each guest to the elevator bank after check in, the valet is a little steep for this location at 16 but convenient. Some choose to self park across the street at the garage and easier to turn if coming from the water side. The rooms are dictated by the historic walls but have been updated well with crisp linens and flat screens. I would prefer to have all full size pillows on the bed as the very square small ones are awkward to sleep on. The restaurant on site is large and has many options, small bar onsite with excellent service. The gym is located in the basement but has sufficient work out equipment and treadmills are outfitted with tv's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very Clean, Lovely Lobby, Very Friendly Staff. We stayed to see a show at the Heinz. The room was small but nice. The front desk clerk was very nice and accommodated our requests. his name was Matt, I believe and he was very welcoming. The linens and bed were very plush. We used the self-parking across the street and found it convenient and a good value. We also ate at Meat and Potatoes around the corner. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Use self-parking if on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Renaissance hotel is nice even though the building is very old.
They have gone to great lengths to update the guest rooms with new baths, flat screen TVs, mini fridge, and in room safe.
However you really can't change the footprint of the rooms, so some are quite small.
They make up for that with the downtown location, newer hotels have larger rooms.
but the best thing is if you get a room facing the front or the river you can easily watch the action in PNC park, and the fireworks as well.
There are many places to eat in the area and it is pretty safe.

Room Tip: street side or river side face PNC park and will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfrquently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Renaissance Pittsburgh is a part of the Marriott family but there is nothing corporate cookie-cutter about its look and feel.

It has a rich history, formerly known as the Fulton Building, built by Henry Phipps, a one time partner of Andrew Carnegie. Its hollowed out arch is quite a sight, a can't miss when coming over from the North Side.

What this means for the hotel patron is having 12 foot ceilings and 6 foot windows. A room with a view of the Allegheny river and the Andy Warhol bridge is probably well worth the premium prices charged.

It was thought that the noise made by freight trains running along Fort Duquesne Boulevard caused Phipps to turn his hotel into an office. There are no more trains, but the rooms are well insulated and the traffic is barely heard.

The ratio of staff to guests is high and the service is fast and efficient. Housekeeping is solid and everything and everywhere looks spotless.

The desk is large enough to spread out work files with ease. The electrical plugs are located at hand levels. There could be some additional LED lighting but maybe you don't want to turn the room into an office cubicle.

The two-tiered internet access is a fair deal. Basic wireless access is free. A high-speed plan is available for 12.99. Unless one requires heavy duty downloads, the free plan is more than adequate, with no hang-ups. Download speed averages about 450kb/sec with a max of 1mb/sec.

Greatly enjoyed my stay in a unique hotel.

(For more history on the hotel read pp. 80-82 of Franklin Toker's Pittsburgh: a new portrait. University of Pittsburgh Press. 2009).

Room Tip: River view deserves the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

There was nothing about this hotel that wasn't amazing. They acknowledged my allergy to feathers upon check-in. The room was perfect. The hotel staff was beyond helpful and even remembered me and my business group of friends from the last time we were there (which was about 18 months prior)

One of my colleagues rooms wasn't ready when we went to check in. They asked us to wait in the bar and bought us drinks while we waited. It was top notch. The bellman Matt was beyond helpful with things to see and do and places to eat.

Everything was awesome. I will totally stay here again and have no doubt that the staff will be top notch all the time. (It's part of the Pittsburgh charm!)

Room Tip: The views from this hotel are great! Ask for a view of PNC Park & Heinz Field. It's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAisHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pittsburgh
4,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 74 in Pittsburgh
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $190 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing